My Sound Booth . . . Er, Shower

The plumber who installed our showerheads dropped by at our request to finish the job.

This showerhead is now working great.
This showerhead is now working great.

First we asked him why the conservatory rainhead shower was not fully putting out water.  He took the showerhead off and found there was a lot of gunk in the screen, possibly because the pipes had been sitting idle for over a year and became dusty.  Anyway, now it is truly “raining” in the conservatory bathroom.

I've chosen a handheld shower that looks like a microphone just in case I feel like singing in the shower.
I’ve chosen a handheld shower that looks like a microphone just in case I feel like singing in the shower.

The real reason he came was to install the holder for the handheld shower in the master bathroom. It looks like a microphone and with the acoustics in here I’ll definitely be singing in the shower. Shower sing list for starters: Soon It’s Gonna Rain, Don’t Rain on My Parade, Singing in the Rain.  Then I’ll probably move to the rainbow songs: Over the Rainbow, I’m Always Chasing Rainbows, Sunshine Lollipops and Rainbows, Look to the Rainbow to name a few.

The controls for the handheld shower and the rain showerhead are on the kneewall near the bench.
The controls for the handheld shower and the rain showerhead are on the kneewall near the bench.

He had not installed it when he hooked up everything else because he had forgotten to ask me exactly where I wanted it and wanted it to be just right.

In this position the handheld shower can also be used as a stationary body spray.
In this position the handheld shower can also be used as a stationary body spray.

After trying it in a variety of spots including the perpendicular wall (at Charlie’s request) I decided it should be directly above the water line for a neat appearance.

I'm going to give this a whirl even without shower glass.
I’m going to give this a whirl even without shower glass.

Shower glass or no glass, I’m taking a shower this weekend. (I shower at the gym during the week.) (Check out what “Simple Living Over 50” has resorted to.)

What have you been waiting for?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “My Sound Booth . . . Er, Shower”

    1. I tried it out on Saturday — washed my hair in the rain shower while the handheld mounted in its holder sprayed the rest of me. Loved it. Jo

Leave a Reply

