Faucets for the Master Bathroom Plus

Once I realized our master bathroom vanity was en route to The Glade I knew I had to make a decision on the faucets.

The vanity comes with 2 integrated undermount sinks.
The vanity comes with 2 integrated undermount sinks.

After all the sinks would not be very useful without them.

The Banbury is a good looking, economical choice.
The Banbury is a good looking, economical choice.

Originally I had chosen Moen’s Banbury because it had a relatively high arch (8.5 inches) and a high polished chrome finish. And the price was definitely right at $119 for both the valve and trim.

The Moen Icon wide-set faucet in brushed nickel. We ordered polished chrome.
The Moen Icon wide-set faucet in brushed nickel. We ordered polished chrome.

I really wanted something a little taller (9 inches) and simpler so I checked other Moen trims and found the “Icon”. And I remember our architect telling us to spend a little more money on those things we touch everyday.

The valve kit includes a sink stopper.
The valve kit includes a sink stopper.

I ordered 2 Icon trim kits ($214 each) plus 2 valve kits ($79 each) from Home Depot because it’s always easy to return items directly to the local store. In this case the trim and valves are sold separately.

Icon toilet paper holder.
Icon toilet paper holder.

I also ordered the toilet paper holder which arrived the day after I ordered it.

Do the cost of necessities shock you? (I’m talking about a toilet paper holder.)

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Faucets for the Master Bathroom Plus”

    1. I know, crazy. Ours were about $25. I wanted old fashioned wooden ones. When I saw toilet seats for $50 I just said “no, no way, huh uh”. Jo

  1. Nice design. I made the mistake of buying a close-set faucet for our bathroom that has a teapot shape (like your first choice but squattier). It’s a B* to clean. Somewhere in the basement we have a sleeker replacement set …

    1. I keep telling Charlie the more “designed” it is the quicker it gets dirty and the more difficult to clean. Then he goes on about how you just . . . My eyes glaze over and I remind him the bathroom is designed with ME in mind. Jo

Leave a Reply

