First Tasks of the New Year

Charlie and I took it easy over the New Year’s weekend.

Charlie resealed the master bathroom marble tile.
Charlie resealed the master bathroom marble tile.

Yesterday we finally did a little something.  I started back at the gym after 3 weeks of being sick. I didn’t lose much ground on my weight loss and have set a goal of 6 more pounds by the end of January.

The lights are down for another year.
The lights are down for another year.

Charlie took the outdoor Christmas lights down.

21 bottle brush trees in various sizes
21 bottle brush trees in various sizes

After the gym I stopped by our local hardware store on the way to work.  I had been eyeing a bag of bottle brush trees which I purchased at a 25% discount.

One of 3 olive trees.
One of 3 olive trees.

Charlie wrestled the olive trees into the house because all of a sudden it has turned cold. In the past we’ve brought them in around November.  I’m planning to put them out again in March.  Hoping their shorter stay in the house will be less shocking to them.   Last year they lost a lot of leaves but over the summer recovered very well.

Lead time 2 to 4 weeks -- I'm hoping for 2.
Lead time 2 to 4 weeks — I’m hoping for 2.

I signed the shower door contract and sent in the deposit.  Before doing so I called to clarify the whether the Vindico glass coating is only on the door or all the glass. Answer: all glass.

Towel bars in shiny chrome for the master bathroom. I may wait until the faucets are chosen to see what would go with them.
Towel bars in shiny chrome for the master bathroom. I may wait until the faucets are chosen to see what would go with them.

I started earnestly looking for towel bars for both bathrooms.

That seems sufficient for a Monday.

Got any loose ends to tie up?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

14 thoughts on “First Tasks of the New Year”

  1. You are hitting full stride again, I see. I’m slowly getting to things that need to be done – it’s time to get the paper clutter back under control. Glad the coating is for all the glass.

  2. Love those shower doors. I want to convert my bath to a shower only and do similar doors but I do love to take baths as well so the tub has to stay. Its a cruel world when you can’t have the bathroom you desire!!

Leave a Reply

