All in One Day

Yesterday our friend who helps us out (I call him the Viking) called to say he could come over to the house and work on a few projects.

Waiting for the plumbing glue to dry before connecting the water in the conservatory bathroom.
Waiting for the plumbing glue to dry before connecting the water in the conservatory bathroom.

Since I had already planned January’s tasks I knew just what he should get involved in.

The master bathroom toilet is installed as well.
The master bathroom toilet is installed as well.

First he installed the toilets in both bathrooms.

The light I'm holding in the picture will replace the one hanging on the wall in the conservatory.
The light I’m holding in the picture will replace the one hanging on the wall in the conservatory.

While he was waiting for the glue to dry on the plumbing connections he installed my new lighting fixture in the conservatory bathroom.

The electric wire is taped to the right side of the duct.
The electric wire is taped to the right side of the duct.

This wasn’t the easiest fixture to hang because there is no electric box behind it, just a piece of wire taped to a piece of ductwork under the wall.

Both the lighting fixture and the sink are installed in the conservatory bathroom.
Both the lighting fixture and the sink are installed in the conservatory bathroom.

We’ll be doing some paint touch-up around the lighting fixture.

One last shot of our 2015 Christmas tree in living room.
One last shot of our 2015 Christmas tree in living room.

A couple of other things happened yesterday which I’ll talk about in detail later this week. As usual, one thing happens and it snowballs.

When do you take down your Christmas decorations?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “All in One Day”

  1. Wow, what a nice New Year’s present! My Christmas stuff is still up – not sure when it’s coming down. Car repair and car shopping have been on my plate, along with a few other things.

  2. go to Car Max on line- I Was 73 when I had to figure out what car to buy since my Husband had developed Alzheimer’s. Even if you don’t buy from them you can look at new and used cars all across the country-when something appeals to you go to Edmunds to see its reviews repair frequency specs etc. You probably already know this-I was so relieved when I figured it out because Car Salesmen insisted on talking to my Husband at the dealerships and he can reply with answers that seem to suggest “we were going to buy” whatever the salesperson was offering. Very unpleasant experience. On line was much more helpful.

    1. I recently bought a “used” car from Enterprise Car Sales an affiliate of the rental company which was a good experience. I bought a 2015 all by myself: https://charlieandjo.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/prices-go-up-sizes-go-down/ . This is the 2nd car I have purchased on my own (even though I am married). The first dealer I visited with my husband and came to feel that one person can observe and negotiate better than 2 if they are not both ultimately making the decision together. Jo

  3. Well, it was a long day and I don’t think I negotiated very well, but it’s done. I went thinking I was going to buy a Honda HR-V and instead went with the larger 2015 Honda CR-V. More comfortable and nicer feel inside. Good reviews everywhere I looked. Had to say goodbye to my 2002 PT Cruiser that I got in July 2001. I cannot tell you how much I loved that car. Extremely hard to part with it, but spent almost $3,000 over the last year and didn’t quite know if I could trust it. I think if I had to do it again, I might take Infinitequery’s advice and do it online. But I’m 68 so this will probably be my last car. It’s my 4th car and I’ve always purchased new and kept them for years and years.

    1. Way to get-‘er-dun, Barbara! I reckon that’s a big load off your mind. About spending the $3000 before making the decision to buy, same exact thing happened to me. I’m not looking back. The CR-V is a good looking vehicle. Enjoy your New Year in your new car. Jo

  4. Glad to know I’m not alone! Big update this morning – I looked at the paperwork which I got so busy signing that I forgot to double check the numbers. Turns out I had signed up for an extended care service that cost $2,200!!!! Called and the financial loan guy tried to evade the situation but I kept repeating that I didn’t want to pay it so it could be cancelled. The contract hadn’t been processed yet so he had pulled it and written up a new one. What a relief. I feel better about the new car now.

Leave a Reply

