Christmas Week Deliveries

When we came home from church Sunday and a box had been delivered by the post office to our door.

We don't need another box.
We don’t need another box.

Unfortunately it wasn’t our name nor address on it so Charlie redelivered it.

Charlie will need to drag the new piece of toilet upstairs to the master bathroom.
Charlie will need to drag the new piece of toilet upstairs to the master bathroom.

We are expecting some deliveries this week which have nothing to do with Christmas.

Tank on the left -- we need one more.
Tank on the left — we need one more.

We should be getting one more toilet tank — we have already received two bowls and a tank.

I'm imagining the double vanity will come in two enormous boxes at least 72 inches long.
I’m imagining the double vanity will come in two enormous boxes at least 72 inches long.

And a solicited email two weeks ago confirmed that the master bathroom vanity would be shipped the week of December 21st. Today.  (I’m not counting on it.)

All that trim needs to go to the Cottage for the holidays.
All that trim needs to go to the Cottage for the holidays.

We are not planning to do any renovating this week. But I’ll be busy today making my grocery list for the party we have planned for the day after Christmas.

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. Do you?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Christmas Week Deliveries”

  1. Remodeling during the holidays has to be tough, but kudos to you for moving ahead with a holiday party! You have much to show and share. I have a belief about guests that it took me some time to learn….if they are only coming to see how clean my house is, I hope they find a mess! (With just the two of us here, it usually isn’t a problem, so I am pretty safe with that feeling!)
    Merry Christmas!

    1. Charlie used to worry about if we’d have enough food. Although we’ve never run out my belief, akin to yours, is if people are coming for the food they’re coming for the wrong reason. We’re here to have meaningful fellowship; we can get food anywhere, any day. Jo

  2. I can’t wait to see the bathroom when it’s done! I love the vanity you’ve chosen. Your home is really so pretty! I like the colors a lot. Happy Christmas to you! Best, Koko❀

    1. Thanks, Koko. That vanity was not my first choice and I hope I don’t have to make a 3rd choice. I do like it, though. Merry Christmas. Jo

      1. I’ve been looking for a vanity for my master…It is small and I really want double sinks…there already are two sinks. So two fits but the way they are making vanities now, they’ve gotten bigger. I may just refinish the one that is in there and make a new counter top and vessel sinks. I just wanted to buy it already done! That’s okay…something to blog about right? Well, it may not be your first choice, but it is beautiful. Take care 🙂

    1. You could fit at least 4 of our original bathroom in the new one. We’ll be living large. I was going to get a single sink but my sister voted double and she knows things. Jo

    1. Not sure why the local FedEx is holding up our last piece of toilet. According to the tracking site it’s been on the local delivery truck for about a week now. They just keep driving it around and taking it back to the warehouse. Crazy. Jo

Leave a Reply

