Running on All Three Cylinders

Once the tile was installed and the wallpaper hung, I was ready to take it easy for a couple of weeks.

Charlie outlined the front porch roof with lights.
Charlie outlined the front porch roof with lights.

Decorating the house for Christmas and planning the party menu were going to be my top priority.

My plan was to set up the dining room.
My plan was to set up the dining room.

As usual my plans are secondary when other people get involved. It’s not all bad but I really had to shift into high gear.

We decided to use wood baseboard like that in the rest of the house.
We decided to use wood baseboard like that in the rest of the house.

So the two carpenters came out and worked on the vanity in the conservatory bathroom and they cut a lot of baseboard trim.

The sink in the conservatory bathroom is fully installed but there is no water running to it.
The sink in the conservatory bathroom is fully installed but there is no water running to it.

While working on the vanity we all discovered that the plumbing rough-in to the bathroom had not been hooked up. That means today when the plumber gets here to install the shower fixtures he’s going to also have to do some plumbing in the basement which will presumably send the cost up.

This is the space reserved for my dressing table.
This is the space reserved for my dressing table.

The two carpenters offered to come back to work after church on Sunday. The Viking is eager to get one of the bathrooms, at least, fully functional.  He suggested they would put the toilets in if I had toilets.

The toilet plumbing is ready.
The toilet plumbing is ready but now I have to hurry up and seal the floor.

Of course I have no toilets. Yet. I had planned to buy a comfort height Toto brand toilet in my leisure and maybe pick it up at Home Depot (since shipping it to my home would incur a $55 delivery charge).

I bough two toilets, CST744SL#01 Cotton White.
I bought two toilets, CST744SL#01 Cotton White.

Instead I found the same toilet on Supply.com who would ship it for free and not charge me sales tax. I ordered two Tuesday afternoon.  It would be a miracle if the toilets arrived before Sunday.

Are you a competent multi-tasker?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Running on All Three Cylinders”

  1. I’m sorry I forgot what the question was because I was so distracted by that amazing dining room rug… That’s the part of my new house I’m not looking forward to, picking out rugs is the worst

  2. Toilets are handy to have! I hope they arrive on time.
    Yes–the rug!! It’s gorgeous and huge! I love that it’s not a traditional pattern. Almost, but more fun!

Leave a Reply

