All That Planning and I’m Short

The tile setters started working 2 days ago and basically laid the floors of the two bathrooms in the first day.

The Ida White Venatino and Marmara Grey honed marble basketweave is laid in the master bathroom.
The Ida White Venatino and Marmara Grey honed marble basketweave is laid in the master bathroom.

The master bathroom floor is basketweave Carrera marble with a medium grey dot.

My dressing table fits in the niche on the left created by 2 kneewalls.
My dressing table fits in the niche on the left created by 2 kneewalls.

I ordered plenty for the entire project because I calculated the square footage and added 10%.  Since I had to buy full boxes of tile I rounded down just a little bit.

The shower and middle of the floor is finished.
The shower and middle of the floor in the conservatory bathroom is finished.

Unfortunately I had purchased the conservatory bathroom tile first and I forgot about the 10% rule.  So stupid, but when I’m sitting in front of the computer ordering tile from Home Depot, what did I know?

Extra tile is needed for this little area.
Extra tile is needed for this little area.

After the tile arrived, I knew the conservatory floor tile would be close.  Apparently too close since I needed to order 6 more sheets. I immediately hopped online to order a few more tiles: 5 tiles would incur a $9.45 shipping charge while 6 tiles (at $7.95 each) would be shipped for free.

I'm glad I stayed committed to curbless showers -- the clean line on the floor makes the area seem larger.
I’m glad I stayed committed to curbless showers — the clean line on the floor makes the area seem larger.

The tile setters are not grouting the tile until all the tile — both floors and walls — is set. I’ve spent the whole day texting “Tee hee hee” to Charlie.  He concurs.

Do building materials tickle your fancy? What does?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “All That Planning and I’m Short”

    1. In this case no harm, no foul. I just try to go with the flow and keep a relaxed mental attitude even though it’s against my nature. Jo

  1. And at least the tile was still available! I had such a bad feeling about where this was going to end up when I first started reading.

    1. It wasn’t supposed to be delivered until the 11th but according to UPS tracking it should be here today (4th). Yea! So many details. But the results are looking good. Jo

Leave a Reply

