I Bought a Cheap Rug Sight Unseen

Yesterday I promised a shot of the newly tiled bathroom floors.  Here it is:

20151202_132935
The master bathroom marble basketweave tile is laid in the shower.

I’ve been thinking about how the dining room is going to look with the wallpapering and painting finished.

The rug in the master bedroom used to be in the dining room.
The rug in the master bedroom used to be in the dining room.

Then I started thinking about what to do for a rug.

The red oak dining room floor.
The red oak dining room floor.

The floor is vintage red oak so I wasn’t it covered.

The wall on the right no longer lines up with the piano wall since additional ductwork was added in the renovation.
The wall on the right no longer lines up with the piano wall since additional ductwork was added in the renovation.

And the room is a weird size — 11′-8″ by 12′-4″.  The wall on one side ends in the middle of the piano on the other side.

The rug will probably lay lengthwise with the grain of the flooring.
The rug will probably lay lengthwise with the grain of the flooring.

After getting a gazillion emails about the big cyber sale on RugsUSA I tried to take a look. I’ve tried before to find a rug online but the color, quality, and sheer volume of choices had me stymied.  I narrowed the choices down to only those blue rugs with 80% off.

I love this rug but feared it would get soiled very quickly.
I love this rug but feared it would get soiled very quickly.

Since this is the main thoroughfare of the downstairs I didn’t want anything too light that would have a dirty corner from back and forth traffic.

Normall I would have played it safe with an all-blue rug.
Normally I would have played it safe with an all-blue rug.
I'm hoping something in this rug coordinates with the other colors in the house.
I’m hoping something in this rug coordinates with the other colors in the house.

The two above were my final choices. So with 80% off and free shipping I bought the bottom one for $170.  I can only hope that the mixture of colors — blues, yellows, greys, and greens — will not look too wild.

Hard to know how the rug will complement the denimy wallpaper.
Hard to know how the rug will complement the denimy wallpaper.

Delivery is set for this Friday but I won’t roll it out until the wallpapering is finished.

What was your crazy purchase? Did it work out?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

19 thoughts on “I Bought a Cheap Rug Sight Unseen”

    1. Five doors is a big order. I love how you’re using old things to complete your renovation project. I have the old doors they removed from my house and replaced with new (seems like pressed paper) doors because contractors like all new stuff. Over time I plan to replace the new with the original. In my spare time. Jo

  1. I also bought a rug unseen – from an auction, no one was bidding so Beloved put his hand up …it turned out to be one of the best buys we have made, it fits his study perfectly 🙂

    1. My bedroom rug is from an auction that my mother won for $100. I’ve had it for over 20 years. She folded it up in a suitcase and brought it to me on an airplane. Those were the good old days when nothing cost extra and everything was allowed in baggage. Jo

  2. Rugs are so hard until you lay them down. I did buy a zebra-print rug that to me, was a wild purchase. It went down in the living room, but didn’t feel quite right so now it’s in our 4-year-olds room. Still wish it would have worked in the living room (and maybe if I were living my myself I’d have kept it there 🙂 ).

    1. Rugs must be the right color, the right size, the right proportion, the right quality and then we can think about style. If you pick a good one it will probably work in a number of places. My conservatory rug has been in the bedroom and the dining room over the past 25 years. Jo

  3. That’s a lovely rug! I think with the plain blue and white of the walls, it’ll give the dining room just the spark it needs! BTW, I really like your old cane-back dining chairs. I just realized they remind me of my grandma’s dining room when I was little.

    1. The chairs were a project of my mother. Some of the cane has been repaired and some not. The leather seats are falling through but I know how to fix that. I’m planning to change the worn leather with some linen canvas like the window shades. Perhaps I’ll paint a line down the middle a la French grain sack. Jo

Leave a Reply

