Yesterday’s Success

My plan for yesterday was to clean the dining room and the kitchen.

The dining room table and floor need to be decluttered.
The dining room table and floor needed to be decluttered.  The exterior paint on the floor can now be consolidated and put away.
I'm on the right track here. Charlie's pile on the right is still in need of attention.
I’m on the right track here. Charlie’s pile on the right is still in need of attention.

Among the items that I have been saving for some forty years are the theatrical lighting designs I did in college.

I decided that if I ever was called upon to do another lighting design (unlikely) I would want to create it from scratch so these designs were not necessary to keep.
I decided that if I ever was called upon to do another lighting design (unlikely) I would want to create it from scratch so these designs were not necessary to keep.

This was a huge roll of papers which has now been recycled.

Charlie uses his kitchen counter as a paper catchall and then complains that he has no room to work. Hmmm.
Charlie uses his kitchen counter as a paper catchall and then complains that he has no room to work. Hmmm.
After the stainless steel peninsula counter was cleared of papers I scrubbed it then polished it with Jubilee.
After the stainless steel peninsula counter was cleared of papers I scrubbed it then polished it with Jubilee.

And we decluttered most of the kitchen which I still like very much since the renovation. (Kitchen Source List: 1 and 2.)  I think the paper piles ended up in either the shredder or the recycling bin.

The peninsula is visible even before entering the kitchen so having it cleared is lovely.
The peninsula is visible even before entering the kitchen so having it cleared is lovely.

The peninsula side of the kitchen is our most-used counter.

I have plans to learn how to use the convection feature on our oven to cook the Thanksgiving turkey.
I have plans to learn how to use the convection feature on our oven to cook the Thanksgiving turkey.

The opposite side of the kitchen is now free of tools and paint gear also.

This camera won't be useful with a dead battery.
This camera won’t be useful with a dead battery.

As to my camera’s missing battery charger, it was not in the piles of clutter either in the kitchen or dining room.  I checked the pockets of every coat and jacket I own.  I still couldn’t find it.  I finally found the charger in the bottom of my gym bag while I was unpacking it. I’m not sure how it got there.

Are you missing some key element for which you have been searching?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Success”

  1. Great job cleaning up the space! I currently have a handle on where things are, I think, but that could change at any moment.

  2. Good job with the decluttering! I know it feels great to get rid of all those papers..lol! My desk is covered right now! I’m missing the cord that goes from the camera to my computer so I can’t get to the pictures off my camera and it’s driving me crazy!

Leave a Reply

