Fair Warning

Charlie is a saver.  I am, too, but I don’t save everything.

Does this not look like a mess?
Does this not look like a mess?

I totally have had enough of his uncategorized boxes of stuff.

Standing in the dining room, kitchen on the left, living room straight ahead.
Standing in the dining room, kitchen on the left, living room straight ahead.

Especially when they’re in the geographic center of the main floor of the house.

A little clarity.
A little clarity.

So I moved it out of the way.

Now that I can reach the secretary I'm inclined to clean it out.
Now that I can reach the secretary I’m inclined to clean it out.

Next stop: trash can.

Paper, kindling, logs and fireplace tools are ready for the first really cold day.
Paper, kindling, logs and fireplace tools are ready for the first really cold day.

The view above was one I anticipated when we designed the new additions.

What tires you out?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Fair Warning”

  1. my husband is great at creating piles of mis-matched stuff, which usually end up concentrated on our dining room table. i started moving things into a little 3-drawer side-table in our living room, and if he hasn’t used them in a few months i move them to a box in the basement. it’s sort of a cycle of dining room clutter —> 3 drawer cupboard (which at least hides it from site) —> basement box —> tossed on the curb.

  2. I’ll join this chorus! Eric is even worse than me when it comes to piling up crap and not putting things away. I guess that’s the price I pay for living with a handyman. I’m no neatnik, either, of course. But it’s easier to blame him! 🙂

  3. Douglas gets mad at me because I put his stuff away, and he can’t find it. I get mad because he will leave it out for years, and it’s not fair that I am the only one putting things away. We have to remind ourselves of the things we love about our partner.

Leave a Reply

