Un-summerizing

All summer we’ve been unable to use the living room.

The shells and dolphins are very summery.
The shells and dolphins are very summery.

The dolphin and seashell mantel decorations have just been collecting dust.

Over time the mantel has become more cluttered.
Over time the mantel has become more cluttered.

I decided to put the various pieces of the mantel décor away so I can be ready to add something more seasonal soon.

After I remove the shell pink candles I'll have a clean slate.
After I remove the shell pink candles I’ll have a clean slate.

I wrapped all the glass and crystal dolphins in bubble wrap and packed them in a cardboard box which I am currently storing in the conservatory closet.

I'm going to replace the beachy items with some of my blue collection like these Kosta Boda vases.
I’m going to replace the beachy items with some of my blue collection like these Kosta Boda vases.

I also dusted and put away the conch shells.  That leaves me with an empty mantel.

I believe we made more progress when the lumber was impeding traffic so I'll move it in front of the fireplace where it will be a nuisance.
I believe we made more progress when the lumber was impeding traffic so I’ll move it in front of the fireplace where it will be a nuisance.

I’m challenging myself not to decorate the mantel until I can get into the living room again. I’m so frustrated with the long trim boards I may just move them in front of the fireplace so I can dust and vacuum.

The carved wood dolphin and tiny ceramic dolphin had damaged fins.
The carved wood dolphin and tiny ceramic dolphin had damaged fins.

While I was in dolphin mode I used Gorilla Super glue to reattach fins on dolphins that received some very rough treatment.

The glue took a long time to set on the wood dolphin.
The glue took a long time to set on the wooden dolphin.

I don’t know how the wooden dolphin was damaged. Unfortunately it didn’t repair very well and the glue shows.  I think it’s not quite lined up because it just didn’t want to stick.

Since we buy our reading glasses at the dollar store there's really no reason to repair them.
Since we buy our reading glasses at the dollar store there’s really no reason to repair them.

Charlie also asked me to repair a his broken reading glasses which I’m fairly sure will break apart again after one use.

These are the trees we see out the conservatory windows.
These are the trees we see out the conservatory windows.

I’m sad to see summer end but the trees are beautiful here at The Glade.

What’s your favorite season?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Un-summerizing”

Leave a Reply

