First It Gets Worse

In the name of progress I made quite a mess of continuing to paint our house.  If I were my neighbors, I would write me a note that says:

This is the view the neighbors see.
This is the view the neighbors see.

Really?

Here I am on the 12-foot ladder painting the back of the house.
Here I am on the 12-foot ladder painting the back of the house.

I started at the back of the house painting the shingles.

I left areas above my reach unpainted until the 24-foot ladder is reunited.
I left areas above my reach unpainted until the 24-foot ladder is reunited.

In my defense our 24-foot ladder has been broken down into 2 twelve-foot sections so my maximum reach was approximately 15 feet.

There's the painting supervisor on another inspection tour.
There’s the painting supervisor on another inspection tour.

Charlie, whose right hand is bandaged due to recent surgery, was a harsh and relentless supervisor.

Here I am on the 6-foot ladder paining the driveway side of the kitchen wall.
Here I am on the 6-foot ladder paining the driveway side of the kitchen wall.

Before finishing the back I moved around to the west side.  This time I used the 6-foot ladder so I could reach only to about a 9-foot height.

The grey area is newly painted.
The grey area is newly painted.

This is how it stands, a mishmash hodgepodge of painted vs. unpainted areas. Hmm.

Our plan is to eventually provide a top dressing to hold down the red clay.
Our plan is to eventually provide a top dressing to hold down the red clay.

We laid down some cardboard and plastic in an effort to keep the red clay from splashing up onto the newly painted surface during a rain storm. We do have plans to ultimately alleviate the problem.

Do you have fall color yet? (Looks like we’re about a week away from full color.)

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

11 thoughts on “First It Gets Worse”

  1. You’re painting is a little erratic but it’s going to look so good in the end. Still no computer and leave Tuesday for a 10 day trip. My trees are absolutely gorgeous and I’m sorry to leave them. I know when I come back it will be pretty bare around here. Good luck with the painting.

  2. Brush-painting a house is so time-consuming, I’m sure your neighbors will understand. I think you’re making great progress!
    Our fall color isn’t lasting long because the drought weakened the leaves’ attachment point to the branches. Color was nice, but the leaves aren’t able to hang on as long as normal. They turn and drop. We’re about half-way through.

  3. I’m dying about this title. When we first started to remodel our own home, the neighbors all hated us. It looked so bad. Now, they love us and the house is beautiful! You have done so much! Awesome!

    1. Thanks, Nicole. We’re at the end of a dead end road so really our house doesn’t impact many people but I know they’re curious. They stop on their walks around the neighborhood and just stare. Some will get to see the interior final results but others will have to be content with what’s on the outside. Jo

      1. The last house we flipped, all the neighborhood was waiting for the open house our realtor was going to have and then the first people who went through it, bought it. We never had the open house. The new owner is having a house warming party and has invited the neighborhood because he said he was tired of people peeking in his windows. 😂

Leave a Reply

