Before the Tile

I had a brilliant notion that I should have the plumber for shower fixtures look at the situation BEFORE the tile goes in.

The master shower bench has a pipe for a hand-held wand; the control is on the kneewall.
The master shower bench has a pipe for a hand-held wand; the control is on the kneewall.

Up to this point we have only rough-in plumbing in the 2 new bathrooms. We’re bravely planning to install the toilets and sinks on our own.

Because we returned the plastic keeper to protect the valve exactly the right amount of opening has been allowed. Nothing to adjust.
Because we returned the plastic keeper to protect the valve exactly the right amount of opening has been allowed. Nothing to adjust.

Just in case there needed to be a change in valves or pipes or wallboard, I had a plumber come out and look at the set-up.

The master bath will have an 8-inch rainshower head hanging from the ceiling.
The master bath will have an 8-inch rainshower head hanging from the ceiling.

He is also going to provide shower fixtures for the installation.

I chose this Moen Vestige trim in chrome for the master shower.
I chose this Moen Vestige trim in chrome for the master shower.

The valves in both showers are Moen Posi-temp which need compatible trims.

I've chosen a handheld shower that looks like a microphone just in case I feel like singing in the shower.
I’ve chosen a handheld shower that looks like a microphone just in case I feel like singing in the shower.

I had done my research and came up with the too many and not enough choices at the same time.  I have printed off the computer my personal preferences and the plumber brought his Moen catalog.

The Arris handle and showerhead are going in the conservatory shower. They co-ordinate with the Ikea sink faucet.
The Arris handle and showerhead are going in the conservatory shower. They co-ordinate with the Ikea sink faucet.

I can provide the fixtures if I want but the work will only be guaranteed if the plumber provides the fixtures.

In order to turn the water on in the Cottage we need a new water heater.
In order to turn the water on in the Cottage we need a new water heater.

In addition I asked for a price for replacing the water heater in the Cottage.  It’s got to be done.

After the tile and plumbing -- shower glass.
After the tile and plumbing — shower glass.

I’m waiting to see the proposal.

What are you waiting for?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Before the Tile”

  1. I’m waiting to see my new shower installed. It was supposed to be done this spring but somehow the money for it got spent… grrr. Hopefully we will begin working on it in the next few months. The fixtures you’ve picked out are exactly what I’m hoping to get. Right now there’s a plain old bath tub and shower but we’re thinking of going with the shower only when we replace it.

Leave a Reply

