Since . . .

Since I can only work on the house on Saturday .  .  .

One by 10 boards have been painted "Secret" grey for the bookshelves in the master bedroom.
One by 10 boards have been painted “Secret” grey for the bookshelves in the master bedroom.

And since our carpenter can only work on our house on Saturday .  .  .

I want my living room back -- SOON!
I want my living room back — SOON!

I always hope that the weather on Saturday is great for working.

This seems like perfect workday weather.
This seems like perfect workday weather.

Today seems to be that great weather day — not too hot, not too cold, not raining.

The miter saw is set up between 2 sawhorses.
The miter saw is set up between 2 sawhorses.

We are setting up the lumber cutting station in the yard as usual to cut down the boards I have painted for the shelf wall in the master bedroom.

Something like this.
Something like this.

Potentially I would like the shelves to go floor to ceiling.

A mocked-up wall of shelves in the bedroom.
A mocked-up wall of shelves in the bedroom.

And I would like the baseboards to continue around in front of the shelves to give them a build in look.

When we built the kitchen island the shelves were permanently attached.
When we built the kitchen island the shelves were permanently attached.

I haven’t given any thought as to how the shelves will be held in the framework so I might need to run out for hardware.

The kitchen cabinets use shelf pins in a column of holes.
The kitchen cabinets use shelf pins in a column of holes.

As I see it there are two methods: shelf standards or a column of holes for shelf pegs. I guess both need to be fashioned before the case frames are put together. So I must decide. Leaning toward the pins-in-holes method.

This is the wall that is being transformed.
This is the wall that is being transformed.

Hope to have progress photos soon.

Saturday plans?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Since . . .”

  1. When I needed to make the holes for the pins that hold the shelves, I made a template, probably from a long scrap of framing mat that I had on hand. It’s been a long time so I don’t remember clearly, but I think the mat was probably a couple feet long and it was wide enough that I was able to fit the two parallel rows on it. It made it a lot easier to be accurate. I might have just used a pencil through the holes in the template and then drilled. You will love having the bookshelves for storage and display. I did when I put up bookshelves in the bedroom of my previous house.

  2. I wish I could remember more. I think maybe I used the holes in a bookshelf or cabinet to get the original spacing for the template. You’re so clever you’ll figure out the best way for you.

    1. That’s the plan. The carpenter is bringing me a drill press tomorrow and will probably set me up with a fence so I only have to measure in one direction. Jo

    1. After describing it to the carpenter he has decided on how to build it. If I can understand it once it’s finished I’ll post an explanation of how it was done. Jo

Leave a Reply

