This Busy Week

Charlie started painting the exterior of the house a little at a time for hours on end this week.

I might hook up my paint sprayer to give a light coat of grey to the phone box.
I might hook up my paint sprayer to give a light coat of grey to the phone box.

He’ll be starting on the front next.

I have 9 boxes of marble basketweave tile.
I have 9 boxes of marble basketweave tile.

I’ve been notified that the tile I ordered for the master bathroom is ready to be picked up.

The tile doesn't fill the car but it is very heavy for my little roadster.
The tile doesn’t fill the car but it is very heavy for my little roadster.

After cleaning out my car I picked up half the order yesterday, the marble basketweave, and the remainder, white subway tile, I’ll be getting today.

Master bathroom shower valves.
Master bathroom shower valves.

I also called the plumber who is installing the fixtures in the showers of the 2 new bathrooms.  Our contractor left both bathrooms in rough-in condition with Moen Posi-temp valves in place.

The shower control valve in the conservatory is a one-piece unit.
The shower control valve in the conservatory is a one-piece unit.

Whatever we choose has to be compatible. I thought it would be a good idea to contact the plumber BEFORE the tile went in just in case a change was necessary.

Charlie reinstalled the Cottage toilet after we laid the floor.
Charlie reinstalled the Cottage toilet after we laid the floor.

We’re planning with the help of our friend to install the other fixtures in the bathroom so we’re only using a plumber for the showers.

A full wall of shelving is planned for the window wall.
A full wall of shelving is planned for the window wall.

Our carpenter (same as friend above) is back from out West and ready to get back to work on The Glade.

Something like this.
Something like this.

My first project for him will be bookshelves and baseboards in the master bedroom.

Our favorite conductor, Jack Everly.
Our favorite conductor, Jack Everly.

Charlie and I have tickets to the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra’s pops concert tonight.  The program is 5 decades of radio hits.  Sounds like fun.

What’s you favorite music?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “This Busy Week”

  1. Oooo my hears pricked up when I heard the word “bookshelves”! A few houses ago (my husband and I have spent our first five Christmases in five different houses!), Tom built me some absolutely fabulous shelves. Instead of going straight across, they jig around a bit, creating little cubbies and whatnot for knick knacks or whatever. There’s a picture on this post of them in the old house, (https://ohmywhathavewedone.wordpress.com/2014/08/17/were-still-here-painting-painting-painting/) and a picture at the bottom of this post of them in the new house (plus additions) (https://ohmywhathavewedone.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/updates-a-lot-can-happen-in-six-weeks/) if you are interested. I have literally a thousand books and always seem to be adding more, so shelf-building skills were a definite husband requirement. 😉

    Things are looking good at your house!!

    1. Love your bookshelves. I can’t wait to have mine for many reasons not the least of which is to get the prepared lumber off the living room floor. I’m going to try to take lots of photos just in case I want to replicate somewhere else in the house or Cottage. Jo

  2. Charlie is moving right along on the painting, and it looks great! Hope you enjoy your concert. We have season tix to the Seattle Symphony (I have no musical background, but Eric played the bass), but tomorrow night we’re seeing Hot Tuna!

Leave a Reply

