Iris Art

Irises
Irises

My mother’s favorite flower was the iris.

We have a pair of these iris lamps.
We have a pair of these iris lamps.

I inherited from her lots of items with irises like the Limoges lamps we use in the master bedroom.

Iris prints in the pink bedroom -- only the large one remains.
Iris prints in the pink bedroom — only the large one remains there.

She also had some framed irises which I have decided to hang in the master suite.

I've had piles of framed photos on the bedroom floor while waiting to hang them in the upstairs hall.
I’ve had piles of framed photos on the bedroom floor while waiting to hang them in the upstairs hall.

Actually I forgot I had them until I started to go through a pile of photos on the floor in the bedroom.

Iris prints.
Iris prints.

Two gold-framed irises are hanging near the French doors out to the porch.

The blue iris watercolor print was the perfect size in the hallway.
The blue iris watercolor print was the perfect size in the hallway.

A vertically-oriented single blue iris that I had personally framed for my mother is in the master suite hallway between the closet doors and the bathroom.

Looks straight to me.
Looks straight to me.
A small level is a handy tool.
A small level is a handy tool.

I have a handy little lightweight level that helps me to hang artwork straight.

What have you found in your “forgot-all-about-it” pile?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Iris Art”

Leave a Reply

