Bathroom Tile Order #3

The tile for the conservatory bathroom has been sitting at the house for months now.

Conservatory bathroom shower tile -- Snow Frost glass subway tile
Conservatory bathroom shower tile — Snow Frost glass subway tile — in the display room at The Tile Shop.

Order No. 1 was the glass tile for the walls of the conservatory shower.

White basketweave tile from Home Depot.
White basketweave tile from Home Depot for the conservatory bathroom floor.

Order No. 2 was the conservatory bathroom floor tile.

Marble tile on the floor and white ice matte subway on the shower walls.
Marble tile on the floor and white ice matte subway on the shower walls.

Now I have placed my order with Best Tile for both the floor and walls of the master bathroom.

Imagine this entire area beautifully tiled, marble on the floor and white ceramic on the walls.
Imagine this entire area beautifully tiled, marble on the floor and white ceramic on the walls.

I feel a great weight lifted off my shoulders. Whew.

I rejected this Marble dogbone basketweave at $45.55 per square foot.
I rejected this Marble dogbone basketweave at $45.55 per square foot.

I had gone to the Tile Shop, Best Tile and Conestoga Tile to select the tile and to get price quotes.

This is Ida White Venatino and Marmara Grey honed marble basketweave with "warm gray" grout.
This is Ida White Venatino and Marmara Grey honed marble basketweave with “warm gray” grout.

I liked the marble tile at Best Tile and the price was, in my opinion, excellent. (This is the place I ordered the tile for our kitchen backsplash.)

Marble basketweave tile for the floor (trade the white grout for gray on the floor) and ice white subway for the shower walls.
Marble basketweave tile for the floor (trade the white grout for gray on the floor) and ice white subway for the shower walls.

Then came the wall tile for the shower.  Both Best Tile and Conestoga had the same tile but it was 54 cents cheaper per square foot at Conestoga.  (I need 140 square feet). That’s a $75 savings.

My Conestoga quote from last May.
My Conestoga quote from last May.

Happily, since I had a written quote, Best Tile was able to match the price of not only the field tile but also the bullnose tiles on which I saved 19 cents per tile.

As I'm writing this my heart started to beat really fast because the ship date seemed to be April of next year but I called and it's actually next week. Phew!
As I’m writing this my heart started to beat really fast because the ship date seemed to be April of next year but I called and it’s actually next week. Phew!

Again I remind everyone to just ask for a discount.  It can always be denied but in this case the salesperson seemed happy to make the adjustment since she could basically prove it was warranted by my paperwork (which I lugged into the store).

This photo was very helpful in the tile store.
This photo was very helpful in the tile store.

It was helpful to have photos with measurements. When the Best Tile representative and I were talking about the bullnose tiles it was easy to point to an area and describe what would be most appropriate in a certain spot, from her perspective and from mine.  Her counsel really helped me decide.

What decision are you up against?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Bathroom Tile Order #3”

  1. I’m so glad you made it through the ordering process. It’s a daunting thing. And wonderful that you got the discount because you were smart enough to take the paperwork along. I would dearly love to rip out the vinyl flooring in my kitchen. I’ve been here 8 years and I think it will probably be another couple of years before I get around to investigating replacing it. Seeing your new bathrooms tiled will make such a difference. Congratulations. Hope the tile delivery goes smoothly.

    1. When something needs to be ripped out I usually start before there’s any hope of replacing it. I lived for years with wallpaper partially ripped out of a stairwell. As to the paperwork, I learned years ago take your notes with you. I was taking a final exam in water safety which was an open-note (not open book) test announced when I arrived for the test. The folks who had left their notes home were unhappy. Jo

    1. Charlie is great at this. His line to service people is: “Can you sharpen your pencil and take another look for us?” Sometimes they can and sometimes they can’t. Jo

Leave a Reply

