A Little Fall Color

After moving our decorative potted plants around the yard I realized we need some fall color.

Charlie and I hoisted my favorite Greek olive tree onto the newly painted back-stair landing.
Charlie and I hoisted my favorite Greek olive tree onto the newly painted back-stair landing.

I’m happy the olive trees have been reconfigured with one at the back door and 2 at the front door. (I’m trying to get them to grow into a topiary shape.)

I've asked Charlie to lift these large pots of olive trees onto the front porch. (We've decided not to dismantle the ramp yet.)
I’ve asked Charlie to lift these large pots of olive trees onto the front porch. (We’ve decided not to dismantle the ramp yet.)

However olive trees and rosemary even in ochre pots do not give a lovely splash of color that we expect in autumn.

Our maple, oak, and tulip polar trees show their colors late in October and early November.
Our maple, oak, and tulip polar trees show their colors late in October and early November. (November, 2013, when the renovation has just begun.)

Our trees won’t actually change colors until about a month from now.

If I'd wanted a pumpkin I had plenty from which to choose.
If I’d wanted a pumpkin I had plenty from which to choose.

Charlie and I went to a local farm stand to find some lovely asters but the selection was limited to a fabulous supply of pumpkins.

I bought the bluest asters I could find.
I bought the bluest asters I could find.

I took a lunch break to visit my favorite hardware store where the asters were a lovely blue (bluer than in my photo) and some sale chrysanthemums were a warm burnt sienna.

Eight quarts of burnished button mums and 3 large pots of blue asters.
Eight quarts of burnished button mums and 3 large pots of blue asters.

I called Charlie to tell him I had purchased 11 plants for him to pot up. I caught him on the phone while he was picking beans from the potager.  He really doesn’t understand growing ornamental anything, especially flowers.

These mums especially should bring some color to our grey, blue, and white color scheme.
These mums especially should bring some color to our grey, blue, and white color scheme.

I’m sure I’ll move these around until they brighten up just the right spot.

The plants on the sun-soaked stands are much further along in their maturity than the ones in the shade.
The plants on the sun-soaked stands are much further along in their maturity than the ones in the shade.
These shaded plants at the hardware store should last much longer than the ones stored in the sun all day.
These shaded plants at the hardware store should last much longer than the ones stored in the sun all day.

I have a small tip for finding the best potted flowers, meaning the ones that will last longer: look for the pots with lots on unopened buds that have been kept mostly in the shade. The flowers in full bloom that have been given full sun all day will fade sooner.

What are your fall colors?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “A Little Fall Color”

Leave a Reply

