Putty and Paint

I was getting tired of making zero progress in the dining room which I started wallpapering months ago.

I've been trying to clear the dining room table which I used to lay out the wallpaper for over 2 months.
I’ve been trying to clear the dining room table which I used to lay out the wallpaper for over 2 months.

In addition to clearing up the clutter, the trim and paneling also need to be painted.

The pneumatic nail gun makes tiny yet visible holes in the trim which must be filled before painting.
The pneumatic nail gun makes tiny yet visible holes in the trim which must be filled before painting.

However before painting the trim every little pneumatic nail hole needs to be filled.

I used the wood filler in a tube for this job. (I did not use Pre-stain for anything on this particular project.)
I used wood filler in a tube for this job. (I did not use Pre-stain for anything on this particular project.)

I chose to use wood filler in a tube — squeeze, wipe with finger, wipe with rag.

After I filled every hole I realized I had missed as many as I had filled.
After I filled every hole I realized I had missed as many as I had filled.

Charlie told me I’d have to sand it all before painting but that’s not the case because I’m wiping it very well with a little piece of paper towel that has a bit of texture to it.

A fresh coat of paint makes almost everything look good.
A fresh coat of paint makes almost everything look good.

I gave all the trim and paneling a coat of interior semi-gloss but it’s not covering very well so I know it will need multiple coats of paint.

The old paneling and the new trim all need to be caulked to make the installation look seamless.
The old paneling and the new trim all need to be caulked to make the installation look seamless (literally).

I asked Charlie, who is an excellent caulker, if he would make all the seams in the trim and paneling disappear with his mighty caulking gun.

I don't want the trim above the judges railing caulked until I've papered.
I don’t want the trim above the judges railing caulked until I’ve papered.

I don’t think he really wants to do it but when he sees the difference it will make I’m fairly sure he’ll make the effort.

Even one coat of paint elevates the appearance of the trim.
Even one coat of paint elevates the appearance of the trim.

After he caulks I’ll give everything another coat of paint.

I need a boost to get the wallpapering finished. Every wall above the paneling gets wallpaper.
I need a boost to get the wallpapering finished. Every wall above the paneling gets wallpaper.

I really need to get energized to finish the wallpaper.  It takes concentration and determination with which I’m not at the moment imbued.

Do you have a special skill you can count on and of which you’re suitably proud?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Putty and Paint”

  1. Is perseverance (aka stubborness) a skill? Often I keep at something, though sometimes over a long period of time, until I finally find a solution or get it done. Will the seams in the paneling expand and contract over time and ruin Charlie’s caulk job?

    1. This paneling has been up for over 40 years so I think it’s pretty well set. As to perseverance, stick-to-itiveness, or whatever you call it, it is a virtue far above a skillset in terms of actually accomplishing things. Jo

  2. Just want to say everything is amazing including you and Charlie. I’m continuously floored with the amount of work you both do and I love seeing the progress and outcomes!

    1. You are so kind. From our side it seems like we never get enough finished (we’re good starters) so your compliment gives us a boost. Thanks. Jo

Leave a Reply

