Finishing Up the Backstairs

We started painting/staining the stairs from the conservatory to the back yard by spray painting the railings with Behr Ultra Pure White in an exterior satin finish.

I painted the railings first.
I painted the railings first.

This is the color we’re using on all the exterior trim.

I started staining the deck near the French doors.
I started staining the deck near the French doors.

After both spraying and brushing the paint on the railings I was eager to see what the stain would look like on the deck and stairs.  (We used Cabot solid oil stain in “Mountain Brush” which we bought from the mis-mixed paint rack for $5.)

Solid oil stain covers most of the wood grain and takes about 8 hours to dry.
Solid oil stain covers most of the wood grain and takes about 8 hours to dry.

Once I started brushing it on I knew it wouldn’t take long to finish the entire porch since it is small.

I used a natural bristle brush but a roller can also be used which I may have chosen on a larger space.
I used a natural bristle brush but a roller can also be used which I may have chosen on a larger space.

I painted the landing, stair treads, and risers.

Charlie has promised to clear out his tools under the steps before winter sets in.
Charlie has promised to clear out his tools under the steps before winter sets in.

I left the painting of the stringers and posts to Charlie. A note here: don’t let paint or stain get into the ferrule (the metal part) of the paint brush.

Before
Before
Now the stairs need a colorful plant to give it some pizzazz.
Now the stairs need a colorful plant to give it some pizzazz.

Happily the inexpensive stain matches the house color, “Sandy Hook Gray”, perfectly.

The major painting is finished -- maybe some touch-ups in the spring will be necessary.
The major painting is finished — maybe some touch-ups in the spring will be necessary.

It’s not the color I would have chosen if I had used swatches (I may have picked something darker) but it looks fine.

What happy accident are you celebrating?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Finishing Up the Backstairs”

    1. In the middle of the project it was too late to go back. I do think the painted porch goes better with the style and age of the house than unprotected lumber. Jo

Leave a Reply

