Painting Our Pressure Treated Railing

I wanted to paint our backstairs railing white.

The back stairs railing.
The back stairs railing.

Because the lumber is well-cured I knew it would soak up paint so I was going to spray on the first coat.

I covered the stairs with a piece of plastic and a drop cloth and I covered the French doors with another drop cloth hung from the porch above.
I covered the stairs with a piece of plastic and a drop cloth and I covered the French doors with another drop cloth hung from the porch above to keep overspray off the house.

I wanted to protect the newly painted exterior walls and windows from over-spray so my first step was to cover the deck and drape the house with drop cloths.

The sprayed coat soaked into the wood.
The sprayed coat soaked into the wood.

I pulled out the compressor and filled the spray gun with thinned and strained paint.   Before I used up the first full container of paint I inadvertently unplugged the compressor.

The railing needed to be painted on all 6 sides -- left, right, back, front, top, and under.
The railing needed to be painted on all 6 sides — left, right, back, front, top, and under.

When I plugged it back in it wouldn’t work.  I checked the outlet, the breaker in the basement, and even moved to a different outlet but it still, wouldn’t turn on. Charlie found a breaker switch on the compressor itself which, after being reset, allowed the compressor to run again.

The safety railing will be returned to the right side of the main railing when the paint dries.
The safety railing will be returned to the right side of the main railing when the paint dries.

I ended up using 2 containers of paint in the paint sprayer.

I took down the hanging drop cloth before I started brushing on the paint.
I took down the hanging drop cloth before I started brushing on the paint.

Everything was not fully painted but the first light coat dried quickly and I brushed on full-strength paint.

A mock-up of the railings before I started.
A mock-up of the railings before I started.
Painting the railings was not as difficult as I expected.
Painting the railings was not as difficult as I expected.

After I stain the stairs and landing I’ll cut-in the detail work.

What’s your project for the cool, dry days of autumn?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Painting Our Pressure Treated Railing”

  1. Too many projects to list, but I’m making some headway. Much easier to work, even inside, when the weather is cooler. Looks like you and Charlie are moving right along on your projects.

Leave a Reply

