Hoping for a Lollipop Topiary

After propagating 2 of our rosemary and lavender in July and transplanting the cuttings in August, I was ready to do some preliminary topiary work.

The shallow pan is filled with vermiculite (perlite and peat moss would also do).
The shallow pan is filled with vermiculite (perlite and peat moss would also do).

The 2-inch sprigs above have continued to grow and have put on some height.

The left plant is growing fairly straight but the other one has a bad case of scoliosis. (Please excuse my camera's black strap which tried to photo bomb every shot.)
The left plant is growing fairly straight but the other one has a bad case of scoliosis. (Please excuse my camera’s black strap which tries to photo bomb every shot.)

I chose 2 spindly specimens with one main stem.

I tried not to tear the thin stem while pulling off the leaves.
I tried not to tear the thin stem while pulling off the leaves.

Then I carefully pinched off the bottom leaves.

Even though this little plant can stand straight by itself I'll stake it for added strength as the top begins to develop.
Even though this little plant can stand straight by itself I’ll stake it for added strength as the top begins to develop.

After pinching the side leaves I staked the plant to a bamboo skewer.  The top leaves also need to be pinched to encourage bushy growth.

Even now these tiny topiary are sweet.
Even now these tiny topiary are sweet.

As it grows I’ll replace the skewer with something taller.

These topiary are in my scheme for Christmas decorations and maybe gift-giving to a dear friend.
These topiary are in my scheme for Christmas decorations and maybe gift-giving to a dear friend.

I’m going to keep the plants outside as long as possible because I can’t seem to keep rosemary and lavender alive in the house over the winter.

This is my goal!!!!!
This is my goal!!!!!

Same goes for the olive trees.

Is it too early to start thinking about Christmas gifts?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Hoping for a Lollipop Topiary”

  1. cool!!! love the little hair clips 🙂 your baby topiaries are so cute! ugh, christmas. no, not too early. it’s never too early for christmas shopping. i get too overwhelmed in december if i leave it all to the last minute.

    1. The little hair clips are actually orchid clips and they are very cute. Since my orchids are not blooming at the moment I have unused clips just perfect for this project. Jo

Leave a Reply

