The Candy Anniversary

Seriously, Charlie and I are celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary today.

We were married right in front of the fireplace way before the renovation.
We were married right in front of the fireplace at The Glade years before the renovation.

I looked up anniversary presents to see what #6 is.  The answer: candy or iron.

A basket of candy for Charlie which he need not share with me.
A basket of candy for Charlie which he need not share with me.

Candy, are you kidding? That’s absolutely Charlie’s favorite food. His piano bench at church is filled with miniature candy bars and jelly beans and assorted candy.

After some research I bought a TFal steam iron for our anniversary.
After some research I bought a TFal steam iron for our anniversary.

I also got him a new iron. I’m sure he’ll love it.

Do you still iron your clothes?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

15 thoughts on “The Candy Anniversary”

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary. Your iron got a chuckle out of me. Oh, maybe once or twice a year I drag out the ironing board and do some ironing. I find it relaxing once I get the board set up. But Jo, since it’s such an occasional occurrence, why do I have 3 full size boards and one half size board?

    1. I know what you mean. I have 2 full-size boards — one I use when I’m sewing in the dining room and the other is really heavy, on wheels, difficult to maneuver, and not even mine. The board both of us use most is in the wall in the laundry. As to irons, I’ve never really bought one so it’s about time we have something that works well. Jo

    1. When we visited my sister (who irons daily) last year I asked her where her sprinkle bottle was and she said she uses the steam in the iron. I tried it and wanted one for us. Charlie struggles with ironing his dress shirts so I think he’ll like this new feature. Jo

  2. I had to laugh at you still using a sprinkler bottle when I’ve been using steam irons my whole life. Yes, I still iron, but many of my clothes don’t require it. Eric, on the other hand, irons a shirt almost every morning, and the ironing board stays up in the dining room all week!

  3. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! you guys look so spiffy all dolled up in the Glade 🙂
    the first and last time i’ve ever ironed anything was 2 years ago when i tried using fabric glue to hem curtains on hubby’s steam press. i got glue all over the steam press and the curtains came out like crap, so i threw in the towel. he just recently packed up the steam press in favor of iron-free clothing, but he always used a sprinkle bottle and the steam from the press. he was very talented with ironing. now he’s talented at finding good deals on iron-free dress shirts and pants.

    1. That is hilarious about hubby. I have always had much better success in actually sewing something together rather than gluing it but I know others who swear by such techniques. Jo

Leave a Reply

