The Hydrangea Hedge is Planted

Three hydrangea bushes start near the front of the house on the east side.
Three hydrangea bushes start near the front of the house on the east side.

I propagated some hydrangea cuttings in the middle of July and now in the (almost) middle of September I thought it was time to plant them before the weather gets cold. (It’s over 90 degrees today so I think there’s time.)

The stakes mark the place for the Nikko blue hydrangea cuttings.
The stakes mark the place for the Nikko blue hydrangea cuttings.

I marked out four spots that would continue the 3-plant hedge we have begun on the east side of the house.

The new planting will allow room for a path to the hose bibb.
The new planting will allow room for a path to the hose bibb.

Whilst I was at work Charlie took my 4 rooted hydrangea cuttings and planted them.

In a few years this will be a full-fledged hydrangea bush.
In a few years this will be a full-fledged hydrangea bush.

I hope they don’t get accidentally mowed down.

This is my mock-up version of what this side of the house should look like in a few years. Hydrangeas in our area grown to twice that height.
This is my mock-up version of what this side of the house should look like in a few years. Hydrangeas in our area grow to twice that height.

Maybe they need a small protective cage.

What does your fall planting look like? Bulbs? Grass seed? Shrubs?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “The Hydrangea Hedge is Planted”

  1. Congratulations! Put one of those flimsy tomato cages or a tall stake to mark them. That’s what I do when I have a very small planting in the middle of the grass. Experience is the best teacher.

  2. That is going to be a gorgeous view from the conservatory in a couple of years. I would put cages on them for a while. We had to cancel our lawn service after the umpteenth time that the guys weed wacked either my little hydrangeas or my private hedge. They can be hard to see. I had rocks around mine though so those guys didn’t have much of an excuse.

    1. Thanks, Jessica. I’ll cage them. Our cages are rusty so not very visible as an eyesore but very protective. I have 4 more blue lace cap hydrangea cuttings for which I’m seeking a spot in the yard. Jo

Leave a Reply

