Limited Headway and Sore Knees

You can see all the debris that we had to move before starting.
You can see all the debris that we had to move before starting.

My plan for yesterday overestimated my physical stamina to climb up and down a ladder all day in really hot weather.

After cleaning the area near the house I started painting the conservatory to the left of the downspout.
After cleaning the area near the house I started painting the conservatory to the left of the downspout.

Charlie took apart and moved the trim drying rack that was up against the east side of the house and pulled his back.

The east wall of the conservatory is bigger than it looks when using a paint brush.
The east wall of the conservatory is bigger than it looks when using a paint brush.

Before I could actually start painting the exterior of the conservatory I had to move a bunch of future recycling and even mow down the weeds that had filled in the back and side near the house.

Charlie is standing on the top step for the last detail; I did the same all along the top.
Charlie is standing on the top step for the last detail; I did the same all along the top.

I painted all morning then Charlie helped me with some of the large areas while I stuck to the detailing.

I was hoping to get the wall with the round window painted.
I was hoping to get the wall with the round window painted.

I didn’t get the front wall of the conservatory finished. (We decided that wall could be part of the spray paint project.)

This door needs at least another coat of paint.
This door needs at least another coat of paint.

I didn’t get the side door finished.

The first wave of hydrangea cuttings are ready to be planted.
The first wave of hydrangea cuttings are ready to be planted.

And we didn’t get the hydrangeas planted.

The stakes mark the place for the Nikko blue hydrangea cuttings.
The stakes mark the place for the Nikko blue hydrangea cuttings.

But I did mark the spots.

Before
Before
The sides of the conservatory are painted the same color: Sandy Hook Gray.
The sides of the conservatory are painted the same color: Sandy Hook Gray.

My knees had a lot of stress because, like Charlie, I too stand on the top step of the tall ladder.  Not recommended.

What rule do you break?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

11 thoughts on “Limited Headway and Sore Knees”

  1. I find ladders are always a pain – literally. Going up and down them uses muscles that must usually be dormant. It sounds like you both had a tough day. It really looks good, though. I even like the blue door a lot, especially now that I’ve cottoned on to the idea of the repetition of blue inside the house!

    1. Even my paint clothes are covered with my color palette. I never get tired of blue probably because there are so many shades. I’m trying to ignore the fact that the shutters will need to be painted. I like the color they are now, “Storm”. The house looks naked without them, kind of like a person with no eyebrows. Jo

  2. You should invest in a big, safe ladder so you don’t have to use the top step. Trust me, you will feel so much safer up there! Then please come paint my house!! 🙂

    1. We have a bigger ladder it’s just more difficult for me to use. Charlie asked if I wanted him to put it up. I said, “not this time”. Jo

  3. it’s looking fantastic! are you going to paint the cement foundation, too? every time my dad painted our house growing up he always painted the foundation the same color (grey). it gave it a nice flow instead of the abrupt stop of the foundation. our neighbors had a yellow house and painted their foundation white like their trim. that looks really nice, too.

    1. Not thinking of painting the foundation. I think we’ll pressure wash it, lay stones up against the house to keep it from discoloring from clay soil, then mask the foundation with plants. However, when we get the spray painter going in the house color everything in our path might get a nice coat of paint. Jo

Leave a Reply

