Making Labor Day Laborious

I’m always happy to have an extra day off on the weekend. Labor Day is one of the few I actually take.

The kitchen bump-out is not large but it took a while to paint due to the detail work.
The kitchen bump-out is not large but it took a while to paint due to the detail work.

Last night I took a look at my September to-do list to try and decide what to tackle today.

I'll save the dining room wallpaper for a rainy Saturday.
I’ll save the dining room wallpaper for a rainy Saturday.

I also took a look at the 10-day forecast which tells me that next weekend requires indoor projects since rain is predicted.

I'll paint the conservatory shingles but not the parged foundation.
I’ll paint the conservatory shingles but not the parged foundation.

Today, while the conservatory is shaded I’ll paint the exterior walls with a brush.

I want 4 new hydrangeas added to the 3 we already have.
I want 4 new hydrangeas added to the 3 we already have and the vines climbing the house must be removed by force.

On that same side of the house I’m going to ask Charlie to remove some of the major weeds and plant 4 of the hydrangea cuttings that have been rooted.

The first coat of blue looks a right mess.
The first coat of blue looks a right mess.

And I’ll give a second coat of paint to the side porch door. Hopefully that will be sufficient.

The front door trim needs a quick coat of paint.
The front door trim needs a quick coat of paint.

Then both the front and side door trim need one more coat of white paint.

From time to time my good brushes need a few hours in brush cleaner to loosen hard paint near the ferrule.
From time to time my good brushes need a few hours in brush cleaner to loosen hard paint near the ferrule.

Unfortunately before I can really get started on any of the painting I’ll need to clean the brushes that I put into paint brush cleaner yesterday evening.  They were beginning to get gunked up near the ferrule.

Can I paint the entire east wing in one day with a paint brush on a ladder?
Can I paint the entire east wing in one day with a paint brush on a ladder?

This sounds like a full day.

Do you clean your paint brushes or throw them away?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Making Labor Day Laborious”

  1. I clean my brushes but also buy new brushes when necessary. I’ve discovered that the short handled brush is much easier for my small hand. It’s not as tiring. The new dining room wallpaper nicely picks up the blue in the kitchen valance. I don’t remember seeing that long view before, or at least not noticing the color repetition. Good luck on the painting!

  2. You’re making such great progress! I agree, the color is beautiful. even though I had three days off, I didn’t get nearly as much accomplished as I’d hoped.
    I wash my brushes well, but I should also soak them in cleaner.

  3. i store my brushes in thick “freezer” zip locks during projects, then wash them at the end. although sometimes by then it seems to make more sense to throw them out. depends on their final condition!

Leave a Reply

