Look Up ‘Til Your Neck Hurts

I was eager to paint the porch ceilings a calm blue color — nothing too wild.

Blue Heather by Benjamin Moore for the porch ceilings.
Blue Heather by Benjamin Moore for the porch ceilings.

I picked a beautiful color blue — Blue Heather (Benjamin Moore color) — with not a speck of green.  I’m a true blue girl.

Don't worry -- Blue Heather doesn't look purple at all.
Don’t worry — Blue Heather doesn’t look purple at all.

When I started painting it in the corner of the side porch ceiling (which is slanted) it was perfect until it started to dry.

Blue Heather on the ceiling; Sandy Hook Gray on the walls.
Blue Heather on the ceiling; Sandy Hook Gray on the walls.

Too dark.

I mixed in white in approximately a 1 to 1 ratio.
I mixed in white in approximately a 1 to 1 ratio.

I poured the Blue Heather into a 2-gallon bucket and added about half a gallon of white exterior trim paint that I had on hand.  It lightened it just a smidge.

Painting beadboard is fairly labor intensive so I wanted to get the color right.
Painting beadboard is fairly labor intensive so I wanted to get the color right.

I decided to paint the entire ceiling and that of the front porch this lighter shade. I knew these ceilings, although pre-primed from the factory, would need 2 coats of final color.

Is it any wonder my neck hurts?
Is it any wonder my neck hurts?

If they were still too dark after they were fully painted I would lighten the paint even more.

Both the walls and ceiling colors pick up tones in the bluestone deck.
Both the walls and ceiling colors pick up tones in the bluestone deck.

Fortunately this color worked just fine so I proceeded to paint the ceilings with a second coat.

The porch took longer than expected so I have not yet had a chance to transform the side door. Soon though.
The porch took longer than expected so I have not yet had a chance to transform the side door. Soon though.

The front porch is less than half the size of the side porch but it gave me a pain in the neck because it is flat so I had to bend my head back for every stroke of the brush.

I used these two brushes which worked well. When painting overhead it's best if the cleaned brushes dry fully between uses.
I used these two brushes on the left which worked well. When painting overhead it’s best if the cleaned brushes dry fully between uses.

(I used 2 brushes, an angled flat 2.5″ brush and a scenery lining brush, to get into the details of the beadboard.)

Once I get up on the ladders I rarely come back down except when they need to be moved to a new location.
Once I get up on the ladders I rarely come back down except when they need to be moved to a new location.

As I said, the side porch ceiling is angled so, although I worked from 2 different height ladders, the painting was much easier.

Before we painted the front porch door, wall, and ceiling.
Before we painted the front porch door, wall, and ceiling.
After
After

No more ceilings .

We'll be painting the exterior throughout the month of September.
We’ll be painting the exterior throughout the month of September.

Now on to the rest of the house.

What the last thing you painted? Or the next thing?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

13 thoughts on “Look Up ‘Til Your Neck Hurts”

  1. The blue ceilings look great! Painting overhead truly is a pain. I get to do it soon, because I also want to paint my porch ceiling blue … but mine will have a little green in it. Haint blue!

  2. it looks amazing!!! i’m going to use your idea of lightening paint by pouring my existing dark grey paint into a big bucket, then adding white accordingly until it’s lighter. i’ve been fretting about taking the paint back to the store and having them lighten it, but i think doing it myself will be much better *nods*.

Leave a Reply

