Square One

I ordered my master bathroom double sink vanity from Pottery Barn on July 2nd.

The Brinkley Demilune vanity
The Brinkley Demilune vanity

Look at the email I just received from Pottery Barn under the guise of Willliams-Sonoma:

On 09/01/15, CustomerService@williams-sonoma.com> wrote:

Hello Jo,

I am following up in regards to Pottery Barn order xxxxx.

I am very sorry to advise that our vendor has confirmed that they are unable to fulfill your order for the Brinkley Double Sink Console .

Your order has been closed.  I have confirmed that your credit card was not billed for this item. Any temporary holds that your bank may have placed on the funds should also be released within approximately 3 to 5 business days, depending on your bank’s time frames for processing changes.

I also took the liberty of reviewing our catalog in an attempt to locate similar items for you. May I recommend the Classic Double Sink Console as a possible alternative?  You may view/purchase the console at the noted link:

Other than the color, does this look anything like the one I had chosen?
Other than the color, does this look anything like the one I had chosen?

http://www.potterybarn.com/products/classic-double-sink-console-espresso-finish/?pkey=e%7Cdouble%2Bsink%2Bconsole%7C16%7Cbest%7C0%7C1%7C48%7C%7C5&cm_src=PRODUCTSEARCH

If you wish to purchase an alternate console, I can apply a 15% merchandise card discount to the new order.  I understand that this does not resolve the disappointment caused, but hope that you will know I am truly sorry for your experience.

If we may be of any further assistance, please contact us via email.   Alternatively, you may contact our Customer Service Department directly at 1-800-922-9934 from 5:00am to 9:00pm (PST) Monday-Friday or 6:00am to 6:00pm (PST) Saturday-Sunday.

Kind regards,

Theresa at Pottery Barn Customer Service

The vanity with a double sink will go under the bathroom window.
The vanity with a double sink will go under the bathroom window.

I whipped off a pithy reply about which I’m sure Pottery Barn cares not:

From: Jo Date: Sep 2, 2015 6:10:31 AM Subject: Re: Re: RE: Feedback: Orders & Shipping:Shipping Inquiry To: CustomerService@williams-sonoma.com

Theresa,

The fact that Pottery Barn held up my renovation for months without any indication that the order may not ultimately be filled makes purchasing something else from Pottery Barn very unlikely. If you look at my choice and your suggestion you’ll see that stylistically they are quite dissimilar.

Jo

The air duct in the master bathroom is situated between the plumbing for two sinks. A detail which I must take into consideration.
The air duct in the master bathroom is situated between the plumbing for two sinks. A detail which I must take into consideration.

So now I’m back to square one trying to select, purchase, and have delivered a double sink vanity for the master bathroom. Sheesh!

Happy Birthday, Sister-o-Mine!!!!

Are you waiting for something to show up?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

15 thoughts on “Square One”

  1. That is incrediably frustrating!!! I was actually very scared the same thing would happen to us! We re did all the plumbing in our house and waited months for our backordered console sink from signaturehardware.com…after months went by everything was done in the bathroom including the wall tile and the sink was STILL not in. I was told once the first backordered date wasn’t met that the metal stand came into their warehouse and did not meet their satisfaction but that the marble still wasn’t in anyway. My advice to anyone renovating after this happening and reading your post is to order a console and get it in before renovating the plumbing :/ Hope you can find something you like with little rework!

    Ellion
    elliondecor.wordpress.com

  2. Great reply to PB and I’m sorry you now have to find another one. You will though and you have beautiful taste for sure!

    1. After that nice compliment, I’ll be sure to try not “to settle”. I was really excited about this particular vanity; it had many features I that fit the situation. Jo

  3. Let’s see … they both have two sinks?! That would really piss me off. Good luck finding something wonderful. It’s so hard when your mind has been imagining a particular piece for so long. 😦

  4. I have started and stopped and started again and stopped replying to this post.
    My Sears experience is WAY to fresh of a wound to not be emotional writing my comment to this.
    First of all, uhhhhh, do these companies even LOOK at what you ordered? Their suggestion piece has one thing in common with the vanity you ordered; color. The end.
    So, speaking of the vanity you ordered, I am in love. It is/was amazing.
    I am truly sorry you went through this wait and let down. It’s hard enough to finally decide on a choice.

Leave a Reply

