Wireless Remote Review

I ordered a wireless remote control device from Amazon.

Everything including a battery came in a small box.
Everything including a battery came in a small box.

The package of 3 adapters and one remote control was delivered in a few days.

I rewired this old lamp myself but should have changed the pull chain to a switch.
I rewired this old lamp myself but should have changed the pull chain to a switch.

As I have said, I mainly wanted it for the lamp by my bed which has a difficult on-off switch. I have other lamps but I really love this pair of iris-painted Limoges lamps which belonged to my mother.

The remote is small but the is almost as long as my hand.
The remote is small but the adapter is almost as long as my hand.

The most difficult part of the entire application was getting the back off the remote and inserting the battery which was included in the shipment and price.

The adapter comes "on" when plugged in but can be turned off by the buttons provided under the lights.
The adapter comes “on” when plugged in but can be turned off by the buttons provided under the lights.

I plugged 3-prong adapter #2 into the wall socket. On a two socket outlet the adapter allows room for the second socket to be used with a regular-sized plug.

I have been able to remove the shell lamp now that I have an easy way to turn on the tall lamp.
I have been able to remove the shell lamp now that I have an easy way to turn on the tall lamp.

Then I plugged the lamp into the adapter.  Since the lamp was on already the light came on when plugged in.

The vintage lamps works more conveniently now unless the remote falls under the bed.
The vintage lamps works more conveniently now unless the remote falls under the bed.

I hit the #2 button on the remote and it went off.  I would say it works great.

One remote controls all 3 adapters.
One remote controls all 3 adapters.

If you’re ordering from Amazon take note that there are different configurations of adapters and remotes such as multiple adapters with one remote, multiple adapters with multiple remotes, etc.  There are also different price points and free shipping. My set was $14.97 plus tax and free shipping.

Can you think of a reason to have a remote hooked up in your house?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Wireless Remote Review”

  1. your “unless the remote falls under the bed” comment made me giggle 🙂 great job and review. i don’t know where we could use this, but i’m going to keep it in my head in case the need arises.

Leave a Reply

