The Paint Sprayer

I’m becoming incredibly handy with the paint sprayer. Sounds conceited and self-involved but I was afraid to even try there for a while.

After about 3 containers full of paint the internal filter seems to clog.
After about 3 containers full of paint the internal filter seems to clog.

Now I know it’s better to work it for about 3 containers full of paint than to make a marathon out of it.

This tiny piece is the key to a successful paint spraying session.
This tiny piece is the key to a successful paint spraying session.

No matter how carefully I strain the paint, the tiny filter in the spray gun clogs after that much usage. (I strain the paint through a piece of screen.)

A ladle is easy to use with one hand and helps determine the amount of water without guesswork although I generally go by consistency..
A ladle is easy to use with one hand and helps determine the amount of water without guesswork although I generally go by consistency.

The paint must be thinned with plain water to about the consistency of whole milk before using in the sprayer. I use a kitchen ladle to add water to paint in a bucket of paint designated for the paint sprayer. (I don’t thin all the paint just in case I want to brush some on for touch ups.)

All the windows and French doors in the conservatory get trim so most of the furniture will need to be moved out of the way.
All the windows and French doors in the conservatory get trim so most of the furniture will need to be moved out of the way by Saturday morning.

I have a firm commitment from our carpenter that he will be coming on Saturday to install more trim. In the mean time I’m going to paint as much casing lumber as I can before it goes in.

My plan was to paint some trim everyday this week but the weather has had a different plan -- RAIN.
My plan was to paint some trim everyday this week but the weather has had a different plan — RAIN.

When cleaning the spray gun ,which by the way was about $16, I don’t use mineral spirits even though the directions call for cleaning the sprayer with mineral spirits.

I figured out how to use the disposable paint cups -- the one that comes on the sprayer must first be removed -- DUH!
I figured out how to use the disposable paint cups — the one that comes on the sprayer must first be removed — DUH!

Since I am using latex paint, the mineral spirits would need to be totally cleaned from the gun before starting a new project. Instead I spray water through the apparatus until it runs fairly clear. When I’m through using it on a regular basis a coating of mineral spirits will deter rust.

The paint gun is easier to pull apart than to put back together.
The paint gun is easier to pull apart than to put back together.

Then I take all the removable parts out of the gun, wash them, and let them thoroughly dry.

Are you planning a project for fall?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “The Paint Sprayer”

  1. I am really enjoying your journey. Any projects I want to do, have to wait until the house has been decluttered, The one and only South African earthquake damage repairs are first on the list!

  2. We are re-decorating our living room once all the kids go back to college. It’s quite possibly going to be a nightmare, but I’m trying to stay positive. Tiling and built-in cabinets and a re-surface hearth, what could go wrong?

    1. Yes, a big one. We have a really long airhose which allows the compressor to be outside even when we need to use it on the second floor (for a nailer, say). Ko

Leave a Reply

