I Must Get Something Finished

I have a lot of open projects. Tomorrow is the day to finish something — some one thing.

Sanding then painting are next on the list.
Sanding then painting are next on the list.

The bottom cabinet of the linen closet needs to be painted.

The master suite hall and closet still have sub-floor.
The master suite hall and closet still have sub-floor.

Even when it’s all painted the bottom cannot be permanently installed because we still need flooring in the master suite.

I want some crown molding above this cabinet.
I want some crown molding above this cabinet.

Then the trim needs to be applied to the top cabinet.

I am really tired of the living room being full of lumber.
I am really tired of the living room being full of lumber.

That’s one project which, if I get into it, will also involve painting some long boards since I’ll have the paint sprayer filled with the right color.

You can see how far I got with the wallpaper before everything stopped.
I didn’t get very far with the wallpaper before everything stopped.

My other started project — the dining room wallpaper — has been held up by the fact that the foosball table is still in the dining room.

The foosball table is right where I want to be and not easily moved.
The foosball table is right where I want to be and not easily moved.

I made arrangements to donate it and now there has been some opposition on the receiving end.

I've had the dining room table covered in black plastic and ready to go for weeks now.
I’ve had the dining room table covered in black plastic and ready to go for weeks now.

In order to work on the wallpaper and finish painting the paneling, the foosball table must disappear.

All the windows in the conservatory need sills and casing.
All the windows in the conservatory need sills and casing.

The third option all depends on whether or not our carpenter friend is coming to work on the casings.  He is supposed to pick up window sills.

Nobody nails trim anymore, I'm told, it's pneumatic tackers all the way.
Nobody nails trim anymore, I’m told, it’s pneumatic tackers all the way.

If he’s using the compressor I’m not going to get involved in spray painting (for which I need the compressor)  or wallpapering because I’ll be right in the middle of everything.

And I want to sell my saddle which I've been carrying around in the trunk of my car.
And I want to sell my saddle which I’ve been carrying around in the trunk of my car.

I hope to get something finished. I feel a little desperate.

Plans for the weekend?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “I Must Get Something Finished”

  1. Sometimes it’s overwhelming to get something finished when you don’t know where to start, or when the project you want to work on requires other projects to either be finished or moved out of the way!

Leave a Reply

