Transforming in Progress

On my to-do list for the past few months has been to paint the bottom section of the DIY linen closet.

Just a smidge had to come off each side to fit the cabinet into the 36-inch opening.
Just a smidge had to come off each side to fit the cabinet into the 36-inch opening.

Charlie cut it down to size.

While the linen cabinet looks grey it is actually dark green.
While the linen cabinet looks grey it is actually dark green.

Now it’s my turn to change the color of it.

The inside used to be turquoise.
The inside used to be turquoise. (I know it looks green in the photo.)

I started with the inside which I wanted white to give the maximum light reflection quality.  It was turquoise.

Some of the outside was inadvertently hit with the white paint but will be covered with grey.
Some of the outside was inadvertently hit with the white paint but will be covered with grey.

I got out our paint sprayer* and gave the inside of the cabinet as many thin coats as I thought necessary to cover the bright aqua blue.

The interior of the linen closet is white.
The interior of the linen closet is white.

To make the job easier I removed the doors. The final color might be pale grey as opposed to bright white but it will do.

The old hardware looked dated so I'm planning to use something similar to the kitchen hardware.
The old hardware looked dated so I’m planning to use something similar to the kitchen hardware.

I removed the hinges from the doors because I want to paint them some metallic shade — Metallic Charcoal wouldn’t surprise me.

The new pulls will have holes at a different width.
The new pulls will have holes at a different width.

I also removed the drawer pulls from the drawers and filled the holes with wood filler.

I like the knobs and drawer pulls in the kitchen but I want to see exactly what comes with my new vanilty before making a final chpoice.
I like the knobs and drawer pulls in the kitchen but I want to see exactly what comes with my new vanity before making a final choice.

 I expect to get new drawer pulls and matching knobs for both the lower and upper sections of the linen closet.

Secret by Benjamin Moore for the built-ins.
Secret by Benjamin Moore for the built-ins.

The next step is to lightly sand the top, front, and drawers before I paint them “Secret”.

I'll get around to this sooner or later.
I’ll get around to this sooner or later.

While I’m painting them would be the perfect time to also paint the boards that are destined to be our bedroom bookshelves.

I simple hand-held paint sprayer is not difficult to use and maintain.
I simple hand-held paint sprayer is not difficult to use and maintain.

*One day I’m going to give a tutorial on how this spray painter from Horror Harbor Freight works and how to clean it.

Favorite method of painting : brush, roller, spray?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

11 thoughts on “Transforming in Progress”

    1. Thank you, Adrienne. I take a lot of time between projects and let them go on forever yet I’m not cured. This will not be my last project because the list is loooong. Jo

  1. I love that there’s another renovation blog on here! I’ve not found any others yet. Eagerly awaiting more updates and progress pics 🙂 Thank you for sharing your project x

  2. I’m guessing I would love the paint sprayer best but, I’ve never tried it. I don’t mind using foam rollers at all. I have to say I dislike using a brush. However, I’m sure it’s because we never buy “good” ones. Can’t wait to see the finished product(s)! Especially those bookshelves.

    1. I want everything finished NOW! That’s not going to happen but we’re working on it. Frankly, I love having projects in my mind and envisioning the finished product. Re: paint brushes — I have been using some of the same paint brushes for over 40 years. (I used to be a scene painter in the theatre.) I buy quality and clean them well. It does make a difference. Jo

  3. I love a high quality brush, but I can see that a sprayer would be better for getting the inside of a cabinet–instead of standing on your head, wearing bifocals! 🙂

    1. Cleaning a sprayer is no joke especially with latex paint (I never use oil). The new standard seems to be acrylic — that’s what we’ll try. Jo

    1. I think this sprayer is easier to clean up than the type where a long hose goes into a paint bucket. Thanks about the color — it’s a nice, relaxing tone. Jo

Leave a Reply

