The Rosemary and Lavender Took

Two weeks ago I tried my hand at propagating 2 of our woody herbs: rosemary and lavender.

The shallow pan is filled with vermiculite (perlite and peat moss would also do).
The shallow pan is filled with vermiculite (perlite and peat moss would also do).

I filled a 9-inch disposable aluminum pan (from the pantry) which came with a plastic lid with vermiculite.

My biggest problem will be looking too soon -- impatient I am.
My biggest problem will be looking too soon — impatient I am.

It’s been difficult for me not to check the rooting everyday but since the plastic lid acted like a mini-greenhouse I could see everything was still moist.

The roots had begun to grow.
The roots had begun to grow.

I took a look at one of the rosemary sprigs and it had some short roots.

It took 2 weeks for the cutting on the left to grow roots.
It took 2 weeks for the cutting on the left to grow roots.

I asked Charlie if he had any small pots so I could plant each sprig in its own pot.

The new tiny plants look healthy.
The new tiny plants look healthy.

When I came home from work he had planted them up.

As they grow I'm going to try to train these little plants into topiaries.
As they grow I’m going to try to train these little plants into topiaries.

From the 10 original cuttings all 5 rosemary made it but only 3 of the lavender are in good shape. Hopefully they’ll continue to grow.

Do you think this would work with olive tree cuttings? Any other suggestions?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “The Rosemary and Lavender Took”

  1. Exciting! This will be a fun project. If you like topiaries, you should check out the documentary A Man Named Pearl. It is on Netflix, and I have watched it several times because it is so good. I also visited his garden in South Carolina.

  2. Lavender cuttings can be a bit finicky and slow. When I’ve done them I’ve done more than I needed to allow for some duds! It pays to let them grow plenty of roots before transplanting them so they don’t get too shocked, but once they’re off they’re off. Looking forward to seeing your topiary adventure. =) Also, you should be able to propagate olive trees from cuttings, just google it or look it up in a book to find the best type of wood, size, etc. for them.
    -Twiglet

    1. I’m going to give my Greek olive tree a go. The Spanish olive trees have not done well overwintering in the house. Thanks for the advice. Jo

Leave a Reply

