The Outside

Recently I’ve been looking at photos of the outside of The Glade.

The Glade from the west side.
The Glade from the west side.

I’m reminded of a few things that really weigh me down since my plan is to get the interior finished then work on the exterior of the house.

The front of the house needs work: painted siding, painted shutters, painted doors, and landscaping.
The front of the house needs work: painted siding, painted shutters, painted doors, and landscaping.

But should I all of a sudden (insert hysterical laughing) get a notion to work outside I have a definite order to the things that need to be done and unfortunately that means some items will look undone for a long while.

The round window gets no shutter but the others do: center bottom kitchen casement window is shorter than our sash windows.
The round window gets no shutter but the others do: center bottom kitchen casement window is shorter than our sash windows.

For instance we removed shutters to accommodate the renovation.

We've been storing the shutters in the shed.
We’ve been storing the shutters in the shed.

In fact we still have these shutters — they need to be painted and some need to be cut down to accommodate new window sizes.

The back of the house needs to be powerwashed then painted.
The back of the house needs to be powerwashed then painted.

The outdoor list looks like this:

  1. Paint the exterior.
    Sandy Hook Gray by Benjamin Moore
    Sandy Hook Gray by Benjamin Moore

    (I’ve chosen Sandy Hook Gray by Benjamin Moore.) All the shutters will actually need to be removed for this to happen.

  2. Prime and paint the white wood trim.
    The original wood fascia needs to be primed and painted.
    The original wood fascia needs to be primed and painted.

    Not necessary to paint the Azek trim.

  3. Paint and hang shutters.

    The shutters will needed to be scraped and painted.
    The shutters will needed to be scraped and painted.
  4. Paint doors. (This item can actually go anywhere in the list.)

    Paint front door.
    Paint front door.
  5. Paint porch ceilings.

    Blue Heather by Benjamin Moore would look nice on the porch ceilings.
    Blue Heather by Benjamin Moore would look nice on the porch ceilings.
  6. Plan foundations plantings and lay them out.
  7. Lay pea gravel or decomposed granite paths.

    Love this gravel pathway from the Inspired Room.
    Love this gravel pathway from the Inspired Room.
  8. Plant foundation plants. (Check out my Pinterest board for inspiration.)

This list of items has a few enormous tasks which will be tedious and need meticulous concentration — not my strong suits. I am a big picture person –  I see the forest. I pull together details but am not really great at managing minutiae.

I think I'll work on the landscaping plan by printing put this photo and drawing on it.
I think I’ll work on the landscaping plan by printing put this photo and drawing on it.

Gratefully Charlie painted the entire house about 10 years ago and will probably do it again. I painted all the shutters once before and never want to do it again. Our carpenter friend has access to artisans who will be glad to ply their trade at The Glade.

Do your lists overwhelm you or settle you down?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “The Outside”

  1. Oh, they definitely overwhelm me. I find if I just start doing some little thing it helps me move on to the bigger things (that are not always on my list!). Good luck with whichever list you choose to work on.

    1. Your prompt to do something little led me to pull out a paint brush this morning before work and finish up something I started on Saturday. Every little bit helps. Thanks, Jo.

  2. When I think of all the things that need to be done at our bungalow, I wonder if we’ll live long enough to do them all! Sometimes an old house can be overwhelming. We have a long list, but it grows faster than it gets completed.

    1. That’s exactly how I feel. I’d like to think we’ll be finished in 2 years but every time I say that, it’s 2 years from a new starting point. Jo

  3. Lists for the house always seem to grow faster than they get completed! I sometimes get overwhelmed by my “to do” list and end up doing nothing for a week or 2, then slowly start with little tasks, and find my momentum picks up and carries me through another few weeks.

Leave a Reply

