Held Up by Chores

Saturday morning I always strip the bed, wash the sheets, and remake the bed.

I like the bed made with freshly laundered, odor-free bedding.
I like the bed made with freshly laundered, odor-free bedding.

Yesterday I added to my list cleaning the bathroom floor (I hate this job) with a broom, a mop, and a steam mop.

Our garden hose is stored like a snake on the ground.  It's always in the way.
Our garden hose is stored like a snake on the ground. It’s always in the way.

Not wanting to waste a Saturday without starting something creative I began working on two projects simultaneously: the castle dollhouse and a hose holder for Charlie.

The castle sits on a grassy base on which has been painted a watery mote and needs  a finished edge.
The castle sits on a grassy base on which has been painted a watery mote and needs a finished edge.

The base of the castle needs a new edging as the original one had splintered off.

Screen door bead is a small and neat trim.
Screen door bead is a small and neat trim.

I started by mitering some screen door bead then painting it green (Bunker Hill) on all sides. This will go on the base of the castle.

Graduated wood squares cut from various widths of lumber.
Graduated wood squares cut from various widths of lumber.

I also cut 3 squares of 1 by lumber to stack up on the top of the hose holder. (I found a finial among our stuff.)

I plan to put the white painted end into the ground.
I plan to put the white painted end into the ground.

Charlie found me a long pressure-treated 4 by 4 which had been a gate post in our long-ago fence.

I tied these two projects together because everything is getting painted the same color.
I tied these two projects together because everything is getting painted the same color.

I painted everything Bunker Hill green.

Bunker Hill green is my go-to garden paint.
Bunker Hill green is my go-to garden paint.

With tickets for the “Music of Led Zeppelin” concert at the Baltimore Symphony along with a block party that’s all I accomplished.

Productive weekend?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Held Up by Chores”

Leave a Reply

