The Dog Days To-Do List

My to-do lists for May and June went so well (she moaned facetiously) that I didn’t bother making a list for July.

This project on my June list -- face the kitchen island toe kick -- was finally completed in July.
This project on my June list — face the kitchen island toe kick — was finally completed in July.

Even though we didn’t go on vacation I feel a renewed sense of “git ‘er done” so here goes a list for August. Maybe because we made some progress last weekend.

Charlie and I have been invited to join my boss at his lake house in the mountains.  Maybe next year.
Charlie and I have been invited to join my boss and his family at his lake house in the mountains. Maybe next year.

August in Maryland is usually hot and steamy but I have a bit more freedom than usual because the choir (of which I’m the director) has the month off and my boss is at his summer house in another state.

Decluttering the Cottage is an on-going shore.
Decluttering Glade Cottage is an on-going chore.

Here is my project list for August.

  1. Let me address my main chore as a choir director in August — I listen to Christmas music.  I’d love to say it keeps me cool and it does but not so much in the body temperature realm. I listen and choose music for 2 programs to be held toward the end of December.
  2. Attend Led Zeppelin concert at the Baltimore Symphony. Pure fun with a block party thrown in.
  3. Finish wallpapering the dining room.

    I've begun to hang the wallpaper.
    I’ve begun to hang the wallpaper.
  4. Paint the dining room paneling.

    The paneling in the dining room is being transformed from woodtone to bright white.
    The paneling in the dining room is being transformed from woodtone to bright white.
  5. Trim the opening between the dining room and conservatory.

    We've started the process.
    We’ve started the process.
  6. Paint linen closet.

    The green cabinet will become the grey-tone
    The green cabinet will become the grey-tone “Secret”.
  7. Paint trim.

    Newly painted wood trim with spacers between layers.
    Newly painted wood trim with spacers between layers.
  8. Finish installing trim.

    We have started the trim installation but there's lots more to do.
    We have started the trim installation but there’s lots more to do.
  9. Tile conservatory bathroom.
  10. Purchase tile for master bathroom.
  11. Tile master bathroom.
  12. Tidy up front of potager.

    The front of the potager should be enticing instead it screams
    The front of the potager should be inviting instead it screams “keep out”.
  13. Set up the last piece of potager fence.
  14. Have someone pick up and take away the foosball table. (I thought this was all arranged.)

    The foosball table is still in the dining room just under the area I want to paper.
    The foosball table is still in the dining room awaiting pick-up
  15. Make a design on paper for the conservatory vanity which we plan to build.

    The lumber has been outside weathering.
    The lumber we plan to use to build a rustic vanity has been outside weathering.

I should have stopped at #10.  We’ll see how it goes.

What’s on your list? Is there a “must do”?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “The Dog Days To-Do List”

Leave a Reply

