Propagating Rosemary and Lavender

While I had all the ingredients out to make cuttings and grow more plants I decided to try my hand at propagating 2 of our woody herbs: rosemary and lavender.

The space between the lamb's ear and the fence should be filled with lavender.
The space between the lamb’s ear and the fence should be filled with lavender.

I would like to have enough lavender plants to fill in the entrance to the potager.

his is the end result I'm looking for in a rosemary topiary.
This is the end result I’m looking for in a rosemary topiary.

I would also like to start some rosemary plants with the purpose of making lollipop topiaries.

New growth (green) and old growth (brown) on the same stem.  Use the new growth.
New growth (green) and old growth (brown) on the same stem. Use the new growth.

Just like I did for my hydrangea cuttings I snipped sprigs from the new growth.

Short sprigs are enough to start new plants.
Short sprigs are enough to start new plants.

Lavender and rosemary cutting need only be about 2.5 to 3 inches.

Dip the bottom of the stem in rooting hormone.
Dip the bottom of the stem in rooting hormone.

I trimmed the leaves from the bottom of the stem and dipped it in rooting hormone.

The shallow pan is filled with vermiculite (perlite and peat moss would also do).
The shallow pan is filled with vermiculite (perlite and peat moss would also do).

I filled a 9-inch disposable aluminum pan (from the pantry) which came with a plastic lid with vermiculite.

If everything goes well I'll have ten new plants.
If everything goes well I’ll have ten new plants.

There was plenty of room for five cuttings of each: rosemary and lavender.

Hoping this pan and plastic lid acts like a small greenhouse.
Hoping this pan and plastic lid acts like a small greenhouse.

In order to make the plastic lid fit (like a small greenhouse) I also trimmed the tip of cuttings.

My biggest problem will be looking too soon -- impatient I am.
My biggest problem will be looking too soon — impatient I am.

I’m keeping this on the side porch so its not in the hot sun. I’m hoping the lavender and rosemary stems will begin to root in a couple of weeks so I can transplant to pots.

Are you a patient sort?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Propagating Rosemary and Lavender”

  1. I planted both rosemary and lavender when we moved into our home 20 years ago, but I am no gardener of any kind (even the fake plants wilt at the sight of me) and I planted them next to each other, now my lavender has spread and the Rosemary is I think dead, since it is somewhere under the lavender. The up side is that I have put some lavender in the cupboards and we have no fish moth problem, also the clothes smell nice. Your method of a ‘greenhouse’ looks perfect for growing your own herbs, especially for people living in and apartment.

    1. Thanks, Adrienne. A few years ago we had tons of rosemary but one bleak and cold winter everyone’s rosemary died. It has taken me a few years — interrupted by renovation — to get on the beam. Jo

Leave a Reply

