Notes from 101 in 1001– #89

In my list of 101 tasks to perform in 1001 days, number 89 is to get rid of 5 big items:

  • Kitchen cabinets
  • Old sewing machine and ironing board
  • Old books
  • Foosball table
  • Doll house.

The trouble is that I am ambivalent about some of the items. We’ve already given away part of the kitchen cabinets — the old, all-wood ones from our former kitchen.

Most of our old kitchen cabinets found a new home.
Most of our old kitchen cabinets found a new home.

Word has it that the recipient has made a good installation of them in his own home. That’s what we like to hear.

Clutter projects stored in the Cottage.
Clutter projects stored in the Cottage.

I also have my grandmother’s Singer sewing machine bought in the 1950s.  I need to check if it still works.  Last time I had it open (which was decades ago) it worked well. I have just seen Diane’s (In My Own Style) trick for hiding her similar sewing machine in plain sight.

My sewing machine is portable.
My sewing machine is portable.

I’m either going to find a place for this machine (I have my own machine) in our house or will donate it.  Since this is a well made industrial machine I will try to find a theatre costume shop that would like to have it. Win-win.

Boxes of old books from the attic
Boxes of old books from the attic

Every time I look up in the attic I see boxes of old books that I am just hanging onto for sentimental reasons.

I printed a photograph and drew on it to get a feel for the scale of the future master bedroom shelves.
Plans for the master bedroom bookshelves.

After we get our bedroom set up with bookshelves along one wall.  I’m going to revisit the books I want to keep and part with the others.  We have lots of children’s books that someone else might enjoy.  In the past I’ve had a book swap and maybe we’re due for another one.

Art photo of the foosball table in the attic.
Art photo of the foosball table in the attic.

We also have a foosball table in the attic.  It’s in pretty good condition since it hasn’t been used for ages.  We took it apart and put it in the attic.

Charlie vacuumed the foosball table and texted a photo to our pastor who will accept it as a donation to the youth program at church.
Charlie vacuumed the foosball table and texted a photo to our pastor who will accept it as a donation to the youth program at church.

This is another item I’d much rather donate that sell on Craigslist.  It might be fun for a community center or the teen social hall of a church.

The dollhouse is in 3 sections still in the back of the attic.
The dollhouse is in 3 sections still in the back of the attic.

And finally I have a dollhouse made for my son when he was a little boy.  It’s special because it’s a castle.  We used to fill it with knights in armor and tiny medieval furniture.  It’s ready for a paint job.

The crenellations need some repair.
The crenellations need some repair.

Maybe before I get rid of it I’ll display it for awhile even though it takes up quite a bit of room.  It’s really neat.

The attic is overdue for a major tidying.
The attic is overdue for a major tidying.

These five items would really be a good start to letting go of things that I just can’t keep.  At one point I was holding onto things to pass down to our grandchildren but since that seems very unlikely I just need to let go.

What do you need to let go of?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Notes from 101 in 1001– #89”

Leave a Reply

