I Pinned It – Now What?

I have a Pinterest board called Jo’s Projects with 219 pins.

Love and simple this is.
Love and simple this is.

My featured pin is a painted saw blade by Zachary Smith.

A used saw blade has some resin on it from cutting wood.
A used saw blade has some resin on it from cutting wood.

We have a bin of old saw blades of different sizes that I just can’t bear to throw away.

The saw blade after using sandpaper.
The saw blade after using sandpaper.

First the blades need to be cleaned off. I started with some sandpaper to get off the gummy stuff.

This adhesive remover took off some of the dark spots on the saw blade.
This adhesive remover took off some of the dark spots on the saw blade.

Then I applied adhesive remover and moved it around with some steel wool.  I washed the adhesive remover off with soap and water and dried the blade with a towel.

Saw blade after adhesive remover.
Saw blade after adhesive remover.

I don’t want a new shiny blade; I like the rustic appeal of the used teeth.

Pencil didn't work well on the blade and blue Sharpie was too permanent.
Pencil didn’t work well on the blade and blue Sharpie was too permanent.

I was going to try to draw directly on the blade with pencil which didn’t work great.  Then I though a light blue Sharpie would work better.  Not better.  I cleaned the Sharpie off with nail polish remover.

I didn't measure anything because this is supposed to be rustic.
I didn’t measure anything because this is supposed to be rustic.

I decided I should make a full size design on paper and then transfer it to the blade.  My plan was to darken the back side of the paper with pencil lead and then draw on the front so it would come through. This didn’t work very well.

Old fashioned carbon paper that had been used in a typewriter.
Old fashioned carbon paper that had been used in a typewriter.

Happily I had a vintage piece of carbon paper. (Do they even make it any more?)

The carbon paper left clear marks on the saw blade.
The carbon paper left clear marks on the saw blade.

It left a clear outline on the saw blade by tracing over my lines with the carbon paper between the pattern and the blade.

Check back to see the full design and progress.

What are you pinning?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “I Pinned It – Now What?”

      1. I’m an anti-packrat, but I would keep old sawblades too – there’s something so beautiful and dangerous and shiny and sharp and round about them. and they’re flat, which makes for easy storage 🙂

  1. So interesting. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. I pin things I don’t want to forget, then I forget I’ve pinned them :/

  2. Steel objects, like a saw blade, seem too substantial just to recycle for pennies by the pound (UK pun). It seems more noble to re-sharpen or re-use than to recycle in some cases. I like this project; makes me think of making a saw blade appear like a tooth-rimmed vinyl LP.

  3. I wonder if a carpentry pencil would work? I used to have one that would write on anything! Saw blades are great bases for all kinds of art. I have a friend who rusts blades of different sizes and mounts them on fences in a decorative pattern.

Leave a Reply

