Trying to Finish Something . . . Anything

Yesterday I had an orderly list of things to do and had started doing them when Charlie told me he had planned a cook-out for 2 p.m.

I started early in the day polyurethaning trim for the kitchen island.
I started early in the day polyurethaning trim for the kitchen island.

Not actually having any food in the house we made a quick trip to the store which totally stopped my momentum.

The old dresser is ready for our new bedroom.
This solid wood dresser is too heavy for me to help move.

Switching gears, I decided I could get some heavy items moved around if I called our son to come over for a meal. I was totally transparent and told him in advance we needed his muscle.

Maneuvering the bend at the bottom of the steps was tricky.
Maneuvering the bend at the bottom of the steps was tricky.

He and Charlie hauled Charlie’s dresser from the cottage to the bedroom.

The footboard and headboard of our king size bed has been leaning against the wall in the bedroom for months.
The footboard and headboard of our king size bed has been leaning against the wall in the bedroom for months.

They carried the sleigh bed (which I plan to refinish) and the bottom of the linen closet (which I plan to paint) from the bedroom over to the cottage for convenient storage.

The white and grey cabinets that were in the dining room are now in the master closet.
The white and grey cabinets that were in the dining room are now in the master closet.

And they removed the extra kitchen cabinets we had from two mix-ups to the master closet where I’m going to try to work tem into the design.

The dresser in the master bedroom was heavy even with the drawers removed.
The dresser in the master bedroom was heavy even with the drawers removed.

Today I plan to finish at least one project I personally began yesterday.  I hope I have something positive to report tomorrow.

Happy Independence Day to my fellow citizens!

What draws you off track?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Trying to Finish Something . . . Anything”

  1. Sounds like a lot got done even though it wasn’t what you had planned 🙂 Sometimes getting side-tracked results in new avenues not previously considered, at least for me. More time to ponder options, etc. Happy 4th!

  2. Absolutely everything! If there is such a thing as Attention deficit disorder I have it ….like totally…..as the kids say. I am 74 and somehow my Husband has been retired for 7 years now but that Bus hasn’t arrived for me yet. Still cooking.cleaning,now dog sitting a 120 lb. Rottweiler of my sons and of course the outside and the inside and the shopping..OK I’m tired now so I’ll stop….complaining that is-the tasks never seem to stop. I think retirement works out much better for the guys. Just sayin?

    1. I’m the stage manager and featured performer here as well. Sounds like husband needs an assignment or two. Just sayin’ . . . Jo

Leave a Reply

