A Few Odd and Ends

These past few weeks have not been very productive in terms of working on the house.  I have a 9-5 job which keeps me busy during the week.  I’ve also started going back to the gym before work so when I get home on these 90+ degree days I’m fairly tuckered out.

The plants are beginning to produce teeny tiny vegetables.
The plants in the garden are beginning to produce teeny tiny vegetables.

Charlie has been concentrating on the potager.

Thankfully we've been storing the casing in the house or else the lumber yard would refuse exchanging it.
Thankfully we’ve been storing the casing in the house or else the lumber yard would refuse exchanging it.

He did find time to call our local lumber yard and plan for the wrong trim switcheroo which is supposed to happen today. (We’re switching the wrongly delivered colonial trim with ranch casing, not because we like it better but because it matches the rest of the house.)

Item #2 is being replaced with something less ornate.
Item #2 is being replaced with something less ornate which, oddly, is higher priced.

I also emailed the lumber yard to get receipts for our recent phone orders.  While I can see the debit on our charge card I always like an itemized list.

Even before I perused the sample books I walked around the store looking for a deal.
Even before I perused the sample books I walked around the store looking for a deal.

Last weekend I spent the morning at the wallpaper store and yesterday I placed my order.

This wallpaper should be casual and coordinated.
This wallpaper should be casual and coordinated.

I ordered six single rolls (@ $34.99 each less a 30% discount) of Blue Strie by Blue Mountain.  The salesperson at the store told me the company is discontinuing this paper and only has 14 rolls in stock, happily I only need 6.

My paper is on page 114 of this swatch book -- the first book that caught my eye.  Wonder why??!!
My paper is on page 114 of this swatch book — the first book that caught my eye. Wonder why??!!

Wallpaper is priced per single roll but is packaged as double rolls so we’ll be receiving 3 double rolls shipped directly to the house.

I hope this wallpaper looks really BLUE when it's up on the walls.
I hope this wallpaper looks really BLUE when it’s up on the walls.

Now that the wallpaper is ordered I’ve made a list of supplies I will need on order to be prepared:

  • 6″ taping knife

    Taping knife used to hold wallpaper while trimming with razor blade.
    Taping knife used to hold wallpaper while trimming with razor blade.
  • wallpaper primer
  • plumb bob or long level
  • wallpaper wetting tray

    Since my paper is pre-pasted I'll be using a wetting tray to moisten the paste on the paper.
    Since my paper is pre-pasted I’ll be using a wetting tray to moisten the paste on the paper.
  • razor blades
  • straight edge
  • tape measure
  • seam roller

    A seam roller is used to give extra pressure at the seams -- often the first area to fail in wallpaper.
    A seam roller is used to give extra pressure at the seams — often the first area to fail in wallpaper.
  • bucket
  • sponge
  • paper smoother

    A smother helps remove all the air bubbles under the paper.
    A smother helps remove all the air bubbles under the paper.

I’m sure we already own the items in green above if I can locate them in the chaos of the dining room. Tonight I’ll get or find the other items.

The dining room has been the catchall as we've been working in the conservatory.
The dining room has been the catchall as we’ve been working in the conservatory.

This weekend I’ll clear out the dining room and prime the upper walls with wallpaper primer while (hopefully) the guys work on installing trim.

Have you stalled on a project? What got you going again?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “A Few Odd and Ends”

  1. Are you kidding?? We’re ALWAYS stalling … or we’d be done with all our projects long ago and I wouldn’t have anything to blog about! 🙂
    That’s nice wallpaper … very denim-y.

    1. Being a former theatre scenic artist (painter) I never really like faux techniques in a house so I’m happy to have found a wallpaper that suits. Plus I can hang wallpaper over time — 3 sheets a day — if I want. Jo

Leave a Reply

