How My Mind Works

On Saturday when our carpenter had to cancel at the last minute I decided to start painting the dining room.

Ralph Lauren "Blueprint" glaze over "Andover Blue" base.
Ralph Lauren “Blueprint” glaze over “Andover Blue” base.

I was going to try a denim technique using Ralph Lauren glaze but when I went to Home Depot to pick up some color samples they didn’t have them anymore.  That was not the deterrent.

The area in question is above the paneling in the dining room -- a height of 3 feet or less all around the room.
The area in question is above the paneling in the dining room — a height of 3 feet or less all around the room.

The base layer was supposed to be 2 coats of semi-gloss which I was going to buy at my favorite hardware store with a 25% off coupon. The coupon doesn’t start for 4 days. That was a deterrent.

Tons of paper on display ready for immediate purchase at Plymouth Wallpaper.
Tons of paper on display ready for immediate purchase at Plymouth Wallpaper.

Since I was on my own on Saturday morning I went to our local wallpaper emporium to look through the thousand sample books they have.

The blue wallpaper looks a lot like the denim technique without the "me" factor.
The blue wallpaper looks a lot like the denim technique without the “me” factor. ($26 per roll)

The first book I opened had the paper I plan to order. (It’s discontinued but I don’t need too much.)

Love this Ralph Lauren paper but at $157 per roll (on sale from $291) I can't really afford it.
Love this Ralph Lauren paper but at $157 per roll (on sale from $291) I can’t really afford it.

There were tons of gorgeous papers.

Ionian Sea Linen in indigo also by Ralph Lauren is $129 per roll also on sale.
Ionian Sea Linen in indigo also by Ralph Lauren is $129 per roll also on sale.

I loved some of the grasscloths and dimensional papers.

Gorgeous Candice Olsen watercolor paisley is $51 per roll.
Gorgeous Candice Olsen watercolor paisley is $51 per roll.

Dreamy paisleys are also high on my list but a little too busy for the dining room which ties the other downstairs spaces together.

Book after heavy book -- I think I found something in the first book I looked in.
Book after heavy book — I think I found something in the first book I looked in.

Ultimately wallpaper will be easier to apply to these varied walls than multiple coats of paint. I’m hoping they have enough in stock.

What’s your primary criterion: money, time, availability, essence?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “How My Mind Works”

Leave a Reply

