What Do You Think About Denim?

I painted the conservatory ceiling Valspar’s “Hydrangea” which I love.

The conservatory is painted in Benjamin Moore's "Tea Light" on the walls and Valspar's "Hydrangea" on the ceiling.
The conservatory is painted in Benjamin Moore’s “Tea Light” on the walls and Valspar’s “Hydrangea” on the ceiling.

Originally I was thinking of painting it with Ralph Lauren’s denim technique.  I was pretty sure going over the ceiling at least 5 times (primer, 2 base coats, 1 glaze coat, one combing technique) would be way too labor intensive on a ceiling.

I never tired of the blue wallpaper above the paneling in the dining room.
I never tired of the blue wallpaper above the paneling in the dining room.

Meanwhile, in the dining room I’ve been waiting to find either wallpaper or fabric to finish the wall area above the judge’s rail height paneling.

The paneling will remain white but the area above definitely needs some color.
The paneling will remain white but the area above definitely needs some color.

The paneling is now white instead of limed woodtone but I still like the idea of blue up there.

I love this freeform splash of color!
I love this freeform splash of color!

I really wanted the Watercolor “Blue Drops” wallpaper which I could have for a small fortune. Maybe someday (when it’s discontinued).

PB Denim Wall
PB Denim Wall. (I prefer it without the map.)

Now I’m turning my thoughts to having some denim.

This area can be seen from the dining room.
This area can be seen from the dining room.

It would bridge the color gap between the “Tea Light” green conservatory and the “Waterbury Cream” kitchen.

The blue chairs in the living room are staying.
The blue chairs in the living room are staying.

It should also tie into the blue kitchen curtains, the blue of the conservatory ceiling, and the blue chairs in the living room.

I have some of our old wallpaper but I don't think it's the answer.
I have some of our old wallpaper but I don’t think it’s the answer.

I went to Home Depot this morning to get swatches of the denim palette because there are lots of choices.

Ralph Lauren "Blueprint" glaze over "Andover Blue" base.
Ralph Lauren “Blueprint” glaze over “Andover Blue” base.

Naturally there were no swatches available. After looking at the Ralph Lauren website I’m think I’m choosing between “Westport Blue” or “Blueprint” for the glaze.

The dining room ceiling is "Revere Pewter" by Benjamin Moore.
The dining room ceiling is “Revere Pewter” by Benjamin Moore.

The glaze can be painted over any color. My ceiling in the dining room is “Revere Pewter” and the adjacent living room walls are the same so perhaps something in this family (which includes “Edgecomb Gray”) should be the undercolor.

I'm pretty sure Charlie likes denim judging by his wardrobe.
I’m pretty sure Charlie likes denim judging by his wardrobe.

So what do you think of denim, pardner?

What’s your favorite color combination?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “What Do You Think About Denim?”

  1. I love denim and all your inspiration pics, however I think I personally would tire of the look easily. If I was more into decorating with the seasons etc I may try it but I’m too simplistic to do that. Lol. My style stays the same f or years!

    1. Thanks, Magali. The worst thing that can happen is that I would need to repaint it or paper it. (It’s barely one-third of the room.) I like a lot of color so this might just do it. Jo

Leave a Reply

