A Few Insignificant Items

Yesterday I didn’t get much accomplished but I meant to.

Lumber in the living room.
Lumber in the living room.

I was going to start by painting some of the tons of uninstalled trim we’ve been storing in the living room.

I usually paint trim outside BEFORE putting it in.
I usually paint trim outside BEFORE putting it in.

The pieces I wanted to start with were at the bottom of the pile so I moved a few pieces and decided it wasn’t a job for me.

An olive tree is in the yellow pot to the right of the irises at the entrance to the potager.
An olive tree is in the yellow pot to the right of the irises at the entrance to the potager.

Then I went outside to move the newly planted olive trees in place.

This vase is over 2 feet tall.
This vase is over 2 feet tall.
I painted and glazed this tall vase to match the olive tree planters.
I painted and glazed this tall vase to match the olive tree planters.

After moving two of them and almost unpotting them in the process, I decided to wait for some help.  I wrenched both my leg and arm trying to move these extremely heavy pots.

Last winter we failed to put our lawn furniture away so it's very dingy.
Last winter we failed to put our lawn furniture away so it’s very dingy.

I also washed down 2 lawn chairs that I’m using on the side porch temporarily.

I'd like to put the planters up on the porch but these olive trees need sun.
I’d like to put the planters up on the porch but these olive trees need sun.

I rearranged the porch a bit but it doesn’t look great.  It is, however, more functional with comfortable chairs and a place to drop something while opening the door.

This pile of wood is now in the living room.
This pile of wood is now in the living room.

Charlie and I cleaned the vintage wood we’re planning to use in the conservatory bathroom. We also piled it in the living room to acclimate it for when we can finally build our vanity.

I love the yellow ochre in the garden.
I love the yellow ochre in the garden.

Not much but a few items to tick off the list.

Are you using your 3-day weekend for rest or restoration?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “A Few Insignificant Items”

      1. I’ve not seen them planted like that before… Quite common in spring beds here, but planted like lone soldiers, they look great how you have them. I might copy you!

Leave a Reply

