Painting Planters for Weeks

Well over a month ago I bought 3 large plastic planters into which to transplant our olive trees.

Naturally I adore this ochre planter from Provence.
Naturally I adore this ochre planter from Provence, the color I’m going for.

I decided to paint them yellow ochre.

The job of repainting these large planters is taking a long time.
I began with some Hubbell House Golden Maize which I had on hand.

Almost every nice day since them I’ve given them a coat of spray paint.

Gloss Sun Yellow by Rustoleum was a bit bright.
Gloss Sun Yellow by Rustoleum was a bit bright.

I started with some cheap cans ($1.50 each at WalMart) of yellow just to get started.

L to R:
L to R: Gloss Sun Yellow, Gold Rush, Gold Abundance, Outdoor Bright Yellow.

The second color was a gloss Sun Yellow and while the gloss looked great the color was a bit too bright.

The toned-down color on the left.
The toned-down color on the left.

I mottled the color with a satin (only choice) Outdoor Bright Yellow.  That did tone them down a bit.

These polycrylic and oil stain don NOT mix until you add some  paint, then it all smooths out.
These polycrylic and oil stain don NOT mix until you add some acrylic paint, then it all smooths out.

Then I mixed up some latex polyurethane, brown oil stain (which didn’t mix), yellow and tan acrylic.

I used an old brush to paint on the concoction of polyurethane, stain and paint.
I used an old brush to paint on the concoction of polyurethane, stain and paint.

I gave the planters a drippy coat of this to tone down the color even more.

The light blotch at the foot of the sawhorse is my entire first batch of special mix.
The light blotch at the foot of the sawhorse is my entire first batch of special mix.

Unfortunately I dipped about one brush worth and then the entire container fell on the ground.

We are getting closer to the color of the Anduze traditional planters in the top photo.
We are getting closer to the color of the Anduze traditional planters in the top photo.

I mixed it again and applied the tinted polyurethane to the planters.

Our harwood floors are finished with
Our hardwood floors are finished with SamSeal urethane.

After this layer dried I found some of the golden oil based polyurethane we used on the new hardwood floors.

I like the casual drippiness -- I did that on purpose.
I like the casual drippiness — I did that on purpose.

I was again hoping for some drips and that the color might add the honey tone found in real Anduze planters.

Honey in back, green in front.
Honey in back, green in front.
The planters are painted yellow ochre.
The planters are painted yellow ochre.

It wasn’t totally successful but a month later I’ve had enough.

Time to transplant.
Time to transplant.

We’re ready to plant. Oh, Charlie!

Do you start easy projects only to have them turn into an epic?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Painting Planters for Weeks”

  1. Projects turning epic is the story of my life. I am glad that you are leaving them at “good enough”. I think that all too often we (as humans) strive for perfection and fail to accept our best efforts.

Leave a Reply

