Color and Finishes for the Master Bathroom

I’ve put off the thought of expensive purchases in relation to the master bathroom as long as I could.

The master bathroom needs to be painted, a tile floor laid, and the shower walls tiled. $$$$
The master bathroom needs to be painted, a tile floor laid, and the shower walls tiled. $$$$

Recently I’ve made some decisions and am ready to put my money where my mouth brain is.

I just love the intricacy of basketweave tile.
I just love the intricacy of basketweave tile.

My first consideration was the bathroom floor which I knew I wanted to have in white marble basketweave.

White Venatino marble tile with a grey dot.
White Venatino marble tile with a grey dot.

There were lots of choices but ultimately our favorite is the Ida white Venatino with Marmara grey from Best Tile. I looked for the same tile at other stores but could not find it with the grey marble dot.

There are lots of choices with marble basketweave tile.
There are lots of choices with marble basketweave tile.

The Tile Shop only has black dots, blue dots, and green dots. Too harsh for me.

Marble basketweave tile with white grout.
Marble basketweave tile with white grout.
This is the same marble basketweave with "warm gray" grout.
This is the same marble basketweave with “warm gray” grout.

In addition the grout color makes a huge difference and we have decided to go with grey grout.  Truly, it changes the character of the tile.

3" by 6" subway tile comes in many shades.
3″ by 6″ subway tile comes in many shades.

To go with this tile on the walls of the shower I have chosen matte white ice tile.

Marble tile on the floor and white ice matte subway on the shower walls.
Marble tile on the floor and white ice matte subway on the shower walls.

While looking at 3 shades of white matte tile I really liked the creamy white but when I laid it next to the floor marble it was clear that white ice in the matte finish was the best choice.

The master suite palette is mostly on the cool side of the spectrum.
The master suite palette is mostly on the cool side of the spectrum.

I priced the tile at various shops and there is a huge difference in price.  Since I need 140 square feet of wall tile, 50 cents can mean a fairly large price differential. One salesman tried to talk me into a glossy white tile and I said that “offended my esthetic”. He backed off.

I might like a countertop of white river granite unless the price is just too much.
I might like a countertop of white river granite unless the price is just too much.

After choosing the tile I laid my grey Benjamin Moore swatches next to the tile and the swatch for the adjacent hallway (Moonlight) and the bedroom (Virtuoso). The ceiling is pink throughout.

Coventry gray by Benjamin Moore should look good with the marble tile in the master bathroom.
Coventry gray by Benjamin Moore should look good with the marble tile in the master bathroom.

My choice for the wall color is Coventry Gray.

Secret by Benjamin Moore for the built-ins.
Secret by Benjamin Moore for the built-ins.

I have picked the dark grey Benjamin Moore color “Secret” from their Affinity line to paint the bottom of the linen closet in the hall and the bookshelves in the bedroom.  My plan is to use the gallon of “Sparrow” I bought here to create a similar color by mixing my own paint.

A 78-inch long double sink vanity goes under the casement window in the master bathroom.
A 78-inch long double sink vanity goes under the casement window in the master bathroom.

I still need to select (and buy) a double sink vanity with a countertop, toilet, and fixtures.

We're looking for an ADA toilet. After all, what's a bathroom without a toilet?
We’re looking for an ADA toilet. After all, what’s a bathroom without a toilet?

And I wonder why I get held up!

What are you mixing up? Havoc? Serenity?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

11 thoughts on “Color and Finishes for the Master Bathroom”

    1. Once upon a time I think tilers put this pattern in one piece at a time. Whoever came up with the web backing was a genius. Jo

  1. This is going to be gorgeous! I just love the basketweave marble with gray dot! I think you’re smart to go with matte tile in the shower. It’ll hide water spots. My once-shiny subway tile may never really regain its shine, even with scrubbing.

    1. Thanks for the “good reason” for why I chose what I like. Drives me nuts when people who don’t know me try to talk me into something different to benefit themselves. I should refer them to my blog commenters. Jo

Leave a Reply

