Conservatory Tile Order

On Saturday morning I was all set to spray paint my large olive tree planters but it was misting outside so I went in another direction totally.

The master bathroom is primed but not painted.
The master bathroom is primed but not painted.

I decided that I needed to choose a paint color for the master bathroom.

I stopped at Best Tile for samples of this marble tile planned for the master bathroom.
I stopped at Best Tile for samples of this marble tile planned for the master bathroom.

In order to do that I needed tile samples with which to compare color. I’ll let the master bathroom decisions be the subject of a future post.

The Tile Shop's white-on-white basketweave floor tile.
I don’t care for the Tile Shop’s white-on-white basketweave floor tile even though the price is right.
Conservatory bathroom tile white-on-white floor basketweave with glass Snow Frost subway on the walls.
Conservatory bathroom tile white-on-white floor basketweave with glass Snow Frost subway on the walls.

While I was working on tile I stopped by the Tile Shop to look again at their white-on-white basketweave floor tile before I ordered a similar tile on-line from Home Depot.

Conservatory bathroom shower tile -- Snow Frost glass subway tile
Conservatory bathroom shower tile — Snow Frost glass subway tile

I talked to an assistant manager while I was there who told me my choice of Glass Snow Frost 3″ by 6″ subway tile was running low in inventory and that the price was $14.99 per square foot.

Glass tile on the Tile Shop website.
Glass tile on the Tile Shop website.

I thanked him and went home to order it on-line and found out it was $27.99 per square foot. OUCH!

This is the plan for the conservatory bathroom.
This is the plan for the conservatory bathroom.

Charlie and I went back to the Tile Shop, found my assistant manager, and ordered 114 square feet of tile.

The conservatory shower stall measures in at 114 square feet.
The conservatory shower stall measures in at 114 square feet.

I received the $14.99 price plus an additional Mother’s Day discount of 20% so the tile was $11.98 per square foot.

The conservatory bathroom floor plus the shower pan is 47 square feet of tile.
The conservatory bathroom floor plus the shower pan is 47 square feet of tile.

It will be ready for pick up next week. Nineteen boxes with a total weight of 461 pounds. Will that weigh my little “Blue Note” down? Are you having a lovely Mother’s Day? I hope so.

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Conservatory Tile Order”

  1. I love that Glass Snow Frost tile! Do you think maybe I could get the same discount?? Which tile shop did you go to? And who did you talk too? Maybe I will get lucky too 🙂

    1. Went to The Tile Shop in Columbia, Maryland. Don’t remember the salesman’s name and the sale was NOT advertised. He said the 20% discount showed up on various holidays — check out Labor Day. When I can, I stop into a store and look at the product and check out the pricing specials. Jo

Leave a Reply

