Prices Go Up; Sizes Go Down

Of course I’m talking about cars.

I would have driven my Mazda forever if she hadn't become so grumpy and money grubbing.
I would have driven my Mazda forever if she hadn’t become so grumpy and money grubbing.

I was in the market for a new car because my 9-year-old red Mazda3 hatchback with a manual shift was behaving very naughtily.  She drank oil like it was water, chugged, puffed, hesitated and, in the end, needed a new engine.

The inside of my Mazda still looked pretty good but looks aren't everything when we're talking cars.
The inside of my Mazda still looked pretty good but looks aren’t everything when we’re talking cars.

I went here and there looking for someone to take her place. I have been driving a red standard shift car for at least the last 21 years.  I was ready for a change.

Bye-bye, Baby.
Bye-bye, Baby.

After doing a bit of internet shopping on yahooauto.com at the suggestion of a co-worker, I headed out after work to look for a used car with a hatchback.

It looked nice except the hatchback area seemed VERY small.
The Chevy Sonic looked nice except the hatchback area seemed VERY small.

I had spotted a 2014 Chevrolet Sonic online at Enterprise Car Sales.

The back cavity seemed a little bigger. Not sure if it was looking at the photos.
The back cavity of the Versa seemed a little deeper. Not sure if it was looking at the photos.

I asked if there were any other hatchbacks on the lot and there were 2: one aqua blue with black interior and the other royal blue with light grey interior. Both were 2015 Nissan Versa Notes.

I ripped the dealer sticker off first thing in the morning when I inspected the car in the light of day.
I ripped the dealer sticker off first thing in the morning when I inspected the car in the light of day.

I picked the royal blue one. Automatic she is.

The sticker of a car has lots of information, some helpful, some not so much.
The sticker of a car has lots of information, some helpful, some not so much.

I had a good although long experience of waiting until they valued my trade-in.

I was happy to finally get it and drive home.  A long evening after a long day.
I was happy to finally get it and drive home. A long evening after a long day.

I signed my name about 20 times.

Small but mighty, I hope.
Small but mighty, I hope.

Then at about 9:15 p.m. I headed home in my new blue-mobile.

She looks nice in her new home at The Glade.
She looks nice in her new home at The Glade.

Woo-hoo! Another item checked off the to-do list.

Why does it take so long to buy cars?  We didn’t haggle over price.  I didn’t need financing. I don’t get it.

I was not paid nor perked for this post.

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Prices Go Up; Sizes Go Down”

  1. Love it! Looks wonderful outside the Glade. i have no idea why it takes so long. it seems that in most cases you could be in and out in about 60 minutes. i don’t know why they make you wait 4 hours! (as was the case when hubby bought a new toyota prius last year).

Leave a Reply

