Here’s What I Bought

Recently I pruned my 3 olive trees that are in plastic planters.

The pot on the left is broken.
The pot on the left is broken.

One of the pots was broken last year when the framers threw debris on it.

The pots are a greyish green color.
The pots are a greyish green color.

Charlie had warned me that the trees would need larger pots so I stopped in Big Lots and found 3 plastic pots that are taller than the ones we’re using now.

Light and Dark Green Spray Paint -- Krylon Fusion is made expressly for plastic.
Light and Dark Green Spray Paint — Krylon Fusion is made expressly for plastic.

The cashier told me she had pots like these at her house and had had great success spray painting them.

My Versailles planters
My Versailles planters

I’m torn between painting them green like our other garden planters — or ochre like I had planned to do with these urns I received as a gift last year.

Love the ochre pots in this setting from Martha Stewart.
Love the ochre pots in this setting from Martha Stewart.

Once I decide I’m going to paint all the pots the same color.

While I'm changing the color of things I might also spray the weird green and yellow vase I found on the giveaway table at church.
While I’m changing the color of things I might also spray the weird green and yellow vase I found on the giveaway table at church.

In the mean time, after Charlie repots the olive trees in the larger pots I’m going to throw way the broken one and use the other two for rosemary plants I bought at the local farm stand.

Lavender and rosemary.
Lavender and rosemary.

I also picked up 3 lavender just because I like them.

I would like the pots in either the honey color (in back) or green.
I would like the pots in either the honey color (in back) or green.

Any vote for green or ochre?

Do you try to improve things that might not really need improvement?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Here’s What I Bought”

  1. I vote for the ochre. You already have a lot of greens and blues, so the ochre will stand out, yet it’s still a nice neutral backdrop for greenery. They’ll also take well to aging, whether naturally or if you give them some help.

Leave a Reply

