Psssst!

I don’t have a secret.  I finally spent the day spray painting.

Here are the frames separated into individual pieces of our vintage patio set.
Here are the frames separated into individual pieces of our vintage patio set.

The weather was warm (above 50) and although it was a bit breezy I worked my way through 5 cans of Rust Inhibitor and Metallic Charcoal to cover my vintage patio set.

Coat after coat of Rustoleum Metallic Charcoal -- until it gleamed in the sun.
Coat after coat of Rustoleum Metallic Charcoal — until it gleamed in the sun.

I also used my rug cleaner recipe to clean the cushions. I squirted it on, brushed it in, and rinsed it off.

Most of the stains (see photo) came out after a good scrub and rinse.
Most of the stains (see before photo) came out after a good scrub and rinse.

The cushions are much cleaner.

I stood on the back steps and threw the pillows up to the roof.  One flew over the other side and landed n the mud.
I stood on the back steps and threw the pillows up to the roof. One flew over the other side and landed n the mud.

I was able to toss the cushions up to the bedroom porch from the conservatory steps.

After on the left, before on the right.
After on the left, before on the right.

I still need to get the last two chair frames up to the porch but at this point everything is painted.

The cushions are drying but I plan to make this porch my 3-season headquarters.
The cushions are drying but I plan to make this porch my 3-season headquarters.

Everything aught to be dry enough to sit on tomorrow.

Two more pieces are waiting to be handed up to the master bedroom private porch.
Two more pieces are waiting to be handed up to the master bedroom private porch.

Woo hoo! I thought it would never get finished.

Inside — outside, where are you working (playing) this weekend?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Psssst!”

Leave a Reply

